Library and Information Science

Library guide: How Do I Find Reference Sources?

Bibliographies

• Annual Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries, 2006

• American Reference Book Annual (ARBA)

• Library and Information Science: A guide to key literature and sources

• Women in Book History

Data & Statistics

• Academic library trends and statistics for Carnegie classification. Doctoral-granting institutions

• Association of Research Libraries (ARL): Statistics & Measurement - Measures of service quality, electronic resource usage and value, and outcomes assessment.

• IFLA Trend Report

• IMLS Library Statistics - Public Libraries Survey and the State Library Agencies Survey  conducted by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

• Librarians in the United States from 1880 - 2009 - Census-based analysis of librarians by Sydney Beveridge, Susan Weber and Andrew A. Beveridge published on the Oxford University Press's Blog.

• Library Research Service  - Provides library professionals, educators, public officials, and the media with research and statistics about libraries.

• US Department of Education: Library Statistics Program - The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) began a nation-wide library statistics program in 1989 that now includes the Academic Libraries Survey, the Public Libraries Survey, the School Library Media Center Survey, and the State Library Agencies Survey. Collections, expenditures, services, and staffing are some of the topics covered by these surveys.

Dictionaries

• Harrod’s librarians’ glossary and reference book

• ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science

• Dictionary for Library and Information Science

• Bookbinding and the conservation of books : a dictionary of descriptive terminology

• Historical Dictionary of Librarianship

Directories

• American Library Directory - A classified list of libraries in the United States and Canada, with personnel and statistical data.

• Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers - Detailed information on more than 34,500 international libraries and information centers.

• Gale Directory of Databases - Profiles thousands of databases available worldwide in a variety of formats. Entries include producer name and contact information, description, cost and more.

• World Guide to Libraries - Current addresses and detailed information on the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide.

Encyclopedias

• ALA World Encyclopedia of Library and Information Services

• Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science

• The Internet: A historical encyclopedia

• The Oxford Companion to the Book