This is the "Home" page of the "How do I find reference sources?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How do I find reference sources?  

A guide to finding online and print reference sources like almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/reference Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide provides tips for finding general reference sources at the Library.  Additional reference sources can be found using the Library's Research Guides by Subject.

What are reference sources?

Reference sources are authoritative works that you can use to locate specific types of information. There are many types of reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, directories, and almanacs.  But in broader terms, it can also include bibliographies, handbooks, atlases, gazetteers, style manuals, or statistical sources.

Where are they located?

The Library has reference materials online and in print. Print reference collections are available near the reference desk at each campus library.  In Regenstein, additional subject-specific reference collections are located on the upper floors.

Can I check them out?

Most reference books cannot be checked out of the Library, unless they are in the bookstacks.

Reference Databases

The databases below allow access to the widest variety of reference books online.  You may also cross-search multiple sources at once.

Guides to Reference Sources

These databases allow you identify reference sources or search print reference materials.

  • Reference Universe  
      
    Use Reference Universe to search the contents of over 4,500 print reference sources. There are direct links to the Library Catalog records for all of the titles that Library owns (which will provide you with the call number and location of the item).
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
      
    If you are looking for a biography of a person, this is a great place to begin. Just conduct a search on the person you are looking for information on, and the database will provide you with a list of reference sources which include biographies.
  • New Walford Guide to Reference Resources
    This book is a good place to identify British reference sources.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Contact Info
Phone: 773-702-4685
Email
Visit Us
Chat::
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip