Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
The DOCUMENTS tab (Europe) leads to archival documents such as:
-Soviet Dissidents and Jimmy Carter
-The Alexeyeva File
-Anatoly S. Chernyaev Diary, 1972
-August 1991 coup in Moscow, 20 Years Later
-Berlin Wall, 50 Years Ago
-Breaking Down Soviet Military Secrecy
-Bush and Gorbachev at malta
-Through Prague to Freedom
-Charter 77 After 30 Years
-Solidarity and Martial Law in Poland: 25 Years Later
-1956 Hungarian Revolution
-Solidarity's Coming Victory: Big or Too Big?
Primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
Material from the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale University Press. The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series."