Library Guides: HIPS 17502: Science, Culture, and Society III: Modern Science: Newspapers

Major U.S. Newspapers - Historical

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all of our ProQuest Historical Newspapers in one place.
Search all of our ProQuest Historical Newspapers together. Note that dates of coverage vary.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1990) This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune, 1849 - Present This link opens in a new window
Major Chicago daily newspaper.
Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new window
Leading American source for news and opinion during the middle years of the 19th century. From Finding Aids, select a Topic to see lists of subjects.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) This link opens in a new window
New Orleans Times-Picayune This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
(1865-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Wall Street Journal beginning with the first issue in 1889 and continuing through 1992. Articles can be searched by keyword and issues can be browsed by date. Includes advertisements and full market information, including stock and bond prices, trading volume and index changes.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2005) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877 through 1993.

Other Databases For U.S. Newspapers

For articles from newspapers that are no longer published, weekly newspapers, or specialized newspapers, search the following databases.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 through 1922, with extensive coverage of newspapers published in the colonial period to 1820.
Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find lists of newspapers published between 1690-present. Limit by era, region, or languages.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects This link opens in a new window
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of U.S. newspapers that have been digitized.
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of US & international newspapers that have been digitized.

More Newspapers

Find more information at the How Do I Find Newspapers? guide.

European Newspapers

Dutch

Dutch newspapers 1618-1995 from the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, including papers from the Dutch East Indies

French
France-actualité, 1978-1981. Indexes Le Figaro, L'Humanité and Le Monde

Gallica From the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Select the "periodicals" tab. Gallica includes a growing collection of 19th- and early 20th century newspapers, such as Le Figaro (1830-1942), La Croix (1883-1944) and Le Journal des débats (1814-1912).

Le Monde, 1987-present; in PDF from 2003. In Eureka.

Le Monde Diplomatique, 1969-2013 in print; 1980-present in Eureka.

German

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online provides digitized newspapers, late 19th and early 20th century.

Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum Digitized German-language Jewish newspapers, 1806-1938.

DiFMOE A collection of 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, journals, almanacs, monographs, photos, maps and postcards from Central and Eastern Europe.

***NOTE Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ) no longer sells its content to US libraries. Abstracts may be found in Factiva.

Spanish

El Pais, Madrid. 1996-present. In Lexis-Nexis

Hemeroteca Digital archive is a project of the National Library of Spain. It consists of 143 titles representing a wide variety of Spanish newspapers, ranging from 1772 to 1933.

See also our guide Latin American news sources.

British Empire

British Newspapers, 1600-1900 includes 17th- and 18th- century newspapers that were collected by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817) and augmented by the British Museum in 1818, as well as national and regional papers from the later 19th century.

British newspapers online, 1901-1950: Lists of regional and national papers, with links to full-text when available.

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2009; and current recent issues in Factiva.

London Gazette (1665-present ), Edinburgh Gazette (1699-present ) and Belfast Gazette (1921-present) are official journals of record of the British government and are available online from their inceptions.

Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

Times Of London digital archive (1785-1985)

Contact Information

Rebecca Starkey
Regenstein Reference Librarian
Regenstein Library, 1st floor
773-702-4484
Email Rebecca

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director of Research and Teaching Support
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777
Email Andrea

Catherine Uecker
Rare Books Librarian
Regenstein Library, The Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center, Rm 130
773-702-8711
Email Catherine