Library Guides: HIPS 17502: Science, Culture, and Society III: Modern Science: Articles

Starting Points

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content from over 10,000 journals worldwide, and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available from 1900. It is especially useful for its citation linking.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly. 1975-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1952 for articles in over 1,500 journals.
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.

Wellcome bibliography for the history of medicine
Online archives of the bibliography cover 2000-2004. Coverage of more recent years through the Wellcome Library Catalogue http://catalogue.wellcome.ac.uk/, which contains article/chapter references. Earlier years (1954-99) in print "Current Work in the History of Medicine" in Crerar Library 1st Floor Reference Z6660.C94

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers publications on U.S. and Canadian history, from the colonial period to the present. Searches 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. Click on Advanced Search to focus your search to specific historical eras.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers publications in the field of history (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on 1450 to the present. Searches more than 1,700 academic historical journals back to 1955. Click on Advanced Search to focus your search to specific historical eras.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)

Historical Journals

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains over 160 periodicals published between the late 17th and early 20th centuries. Topics covered include philosophy, history, science, and the social sciences.
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Includes Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online, along with full-text resources, for integrated bibliographic coverage of books and official publications, archives, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. Years of coverage: 1790-1919.
The Nineteenth Century Index (C19 Index) draws on the strength of indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Palmer's, and Periodicals Index Online, along with full-text resources, to create integrated bibliographic coverage of books and official publications, archives, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. Years of coverage: 1790-1919. Collections expand with each release of the database.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. Includes publications relating to science and technology.
Online journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. Topics covered include the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion. Supports studies of the Eighteenth Century, including Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press.

Article Indexes in Print

American medical bibliography 1639-1783 : A chronological catalogue, and critical and bibliographical study of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and articles in periodical publications relating to the medical sciences--medicine, surgery, pharmacy, dentistry,
Z6659.G91 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
Covers literature published 1639-1783.

The following are a selected list of important print sources for articles in the history of science. Many of these titles are available online, either partially or fully, via HathiTrust.

American medical imprints, 1820-1910 : a checklist of publications illustrating the history and progress of medical science, medical education, and the healing arts in the United States : a preliminary contribution / Francesco Cordasco
Z6661.U6C7 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
As the title indicates, covers articles published from 1820-1910.
Catalogue of Scientific Papers (Royal Society)
Z7403.R88 1965 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
An author index to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals, and other periodical works. Continued by the International Catalogue of Scientific Literature, which deals with literature published after 1900. Complemented by the society's "Catalogue of scientific papers, 1800-1900. Subject Index."
Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900 : Subject Index
Z7403.R88 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
Covers literature published 1800-1900. Produced by the Royal Society of London. International in scope.
Early American medical imprints : a guide to works printed in the United States, 1668-1820
Z6661.U6A5 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
Covers literature published 1668-1820, including articles. Produced by Robert B. Austin.
Index medicus, a ... classified record of the current medical literature of the world.
Z6660.I4 Crerar Reference
Covers articles published 1879-1898/1899 and 1903-1927
International Catalogue of Scientific Literature, 1901-1914
Z7401.I57 1968 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
An annual index to current scientific literature, beginning with 1901 (the literature of the 19th century being covered by the Royal Society's Catalogue of Scientific Papers (1800-1900).
Medicine in Great Britain from the Restoration to the nineteenth century, 1660-1800 : an annotated bibliography
Z6661.G7R630 1992 Crerar Library, Lower Level
Covers literature published 1660-1800. Compiled by Samuel J. Rogal.
Catalogue of publications of societies and of periodical works. Belonging to the Smithsonian institution, January 1, 1866. Deposited in the Library of Congress.
Z5051.S66 Crerar Library, 1st Floor Reference
From the text, available at HathiTrust: "The present work is a catalogue of that portion of the library of the Smithsonian Institution which embraces the publications of learned societies and other public bodies, as well as encyclopœdias and periodical and serial works in general. It also includes the titles of periodicals in possession of the Institution, published by private parties, particularly those relating to the Natural and Physical Scie

Contact Information

Rebecca Starkey
Regenstein Reference Librarian
Regenstein Library, 1st floor
773-702-4484
Email Rebecca

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director of Research and Teaching Support
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777
Email Andrea

Catherine Uecker
Rare Books Librarian
Regenstein Library, The Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center, Rm 130
773-702-8711
Email Catherine