(1974-present). Best place to start researching 20th- and 21st-century artists and movements. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
Citations of articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Coverage from 1973 to 2009. Indexes articles on architecture from the post-Classical period to the present, with an emphasis on Western Europe. BHA ceased in 2009. The database corresponds to BHA: Bibliography of the history of art = Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art issued since 1990 (Z5937.B2 RR4); it also incorporates RILA: International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1974-1990) in its entirety (Z5937.R2 RR4); and the segment of Repertoire d'art et d'archaeologie that was published between 1973 and 1989.
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a database created by the J. Paul Getty Trust's Art History Information Program (AHIP) in conjunction with the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. It contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.
(1934-present, with selective records dating to the 1860s): Articles and book reviews on architecture, interior design, city planning and individual architects.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. Avery Index also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Among the obituaries indexed are those from four crucial American periodicals since their inception: American Architect (1876), Architectural Forum (1892), Architectural Record (1891), and Progressive Architecture (1920). The Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects is indexed as far back as 1865, providing an extensive record of English architects.
Coverage: 1903-1986 with some sources back to 1894. Provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design.
Art History Research net [AHR net] is an art history research service consisting of five related and linked databases:
ReView - Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s
Arts + Architecture Profiles - Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople
Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986
Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s - This is an ongoing project to digitize every book, exhibition catalogue, pamphlet and conference paper, as well as much of the journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth century and early years of the twentieth century
Research Sources: 2. The Poster - Contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster
(1973-present). Articles on contemporary design and craft from journals and newspapers. Includes conference reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews.
The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world.
Indexes all of the articles and announcements in 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century.
Covering 42 periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century, this database is the sole online index to virtually all the art journals published in that period. The entire contents of each issue is indexedarticles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements. This makes the Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicalsin addition to its coverage of artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collectinga highly valuable source of information on popular culture and industry.
Nice mixture of scholarly journals and general- interest articles and book reviews from publications such as the New Yorker, Ms., and New Republic. Coverage varies considerably, title by title.
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.
1964-present. Articles on all aspects of American history. Great for situating works of art in a broader context.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
1955-present. Articles on all aspects of European history Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.