Library Guides: ARTH 15610: Imitation of Life: Art in the Twentieth Century: Home

Related Library Guides

Catalogs

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Identify items not held by the University of Chicago and place Interlibrary Loan requests by using the FindIt button.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Guides

Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present
Artspeak includes more than 115 entries explain the who, what, when, and where of art since 1945. Entries discuss specific art movements, concepts, as well as describing various media and approaches to art-making.
Not online
Twentieth-century Artists on Art: An Index to Artists' Writings, Statements, and Interviews
An international index to artists' writings covering 5,000 artists
Not online

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The best modern encyclopedia of world art, searchable by concepts as well as by artists' and architects' names. The bibliographies are a worthwhile starting point for further research. Also search the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics from within this interface. Encyclopedia covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s, with articles on the art and culture of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas and the Pacific. Database includes links to images and further information in museum and other art-related web sites.
The best modern art encyclopedia, searchable by concepts as well as by artists' names. The bibliographies are a worthwhile starting point for further research
Dictionary of Art Historians This link opens in a new window
From Duke University, a guide to the publications, methodologies and backgrounds of leading art historians.
From Duke University, a guide to the publications, methodologies and backgrounds of leading art historians.
Oxford Reference Online--Art & Architecture This link opens in a new window
Full-text version of Dictionary of Art Terms, and several other reference books.
Full-text version of Dictionary of Architecture, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art and more. Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.

Biographical Sources

For background information on collectors, artists and sitters.

World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive biographical database.
Comprehensive biographical database providing short biographical information on 3.6 million persons with a historical coverage. Digital facsimile articles from more than 2,300 reference works are also included for 1.3 persons.

Benezit's Dictionary of Artists
The new English-language edition of the 14-volume set.
Not online

Subject Specialist

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463

773-702-5193

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences