How to Cite
Using information fairly and acknowledging sources accurately is an essential part of any research project. Citations provide information to help readers locate the sources you use and provide a way for you to credit other scholars for their original ideas or findings. Most researchers use style guides or manuals to format their citations in a consistent way so their readers can quickly identify and locate cited sources.
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
- Cite Right by In his bestselling guide,Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success, veteran teacher Charles Lipson brought welcome clarity to the principles of academic honesty as well as to the often murky issues surrounding plagiarism in the digital age. Thousands of students have turned to Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly—and avoid plagiarism—when writing their research papers. With his latest book,Cite Right, Lipson once again provides much-needed counsel in a concise and affordable handbook for students and researchers. Building onDoing Honest Work in College, Lipson’s new book offers a wealth of information on an even greater range of citation styles and details the intricacies of many additional kinds of sources. Lipson’s introductory essay, “Why Cite,” explains the reasons it is so important to use citations—and to present them accurately—in research writing. In subsequent chapters, Lipson explains the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry, mathematics, and computer science); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;Bluebookand ALWD (law); and AAA (anthropology and ethnography). His discussions of these styles are presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to science, law, and medicine. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches,Cite Rightis an accessible, one-stop resource—a must-have guide for students and researchers alike who need to prepare citations in any of the major disciplines and professional studies.ISBN: 9780226484808Publication Date: 2008-04-15
- The Essential Guide to Writing History Essays by The Essential Guide to Writing History Essays is a step-by-step guide to the typical assignments of any undergraduate or master's-level history program in North America. Effective writing is a process of discovery, achieved through the continual act of making choices - what to include orexclude, how to order elements, and which style to choose - each according to the author's goals and the intended audience. The book integrates reading and specialized vocabulary with writing and revision and addresses the evolving nature of digital media while teaching the terms and logic oftraditional sources and the reasons for citation as well as the styles. This approach to writing not only helps students produce an effective final product and build from writing simple, short essays to completing a full research thesis, it also teaches students why and how an essay is effective,empowering them to approach new writing challenges with the freedom to find their own voice.ISBN: 9780190271169Publication Date: 2020-01-09
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Why and How To: Annotated Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies help to organize and summarize your research on a topic, which can help motivate you to write. An annotated bibliography includes a citation and a brief statement of its argument or purpose in your words. You can also include how you would use the source in your research.
Examples of Annotated Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- African-American Holiness Pentecostal Movement: an annotated bibliography byISBN: 0824014499Publication Date: 1995-11-01
- John Rawls and His Critics : an annotated bibliography byISBN: 0824092856Publication Date: 1982-08-01
- Philo of Alexandria : an annotated bibliography 1997-2006 with addenda for 1987-1996 by This volume, prepared with the collaboration of the International Philo Bibliography Project, is the third in a series of annotated bibliographies on the Jewish exegete and philosopher Philo of Alexandria. It contains a listing of all scholarly writings on Philo for the period 1997 to 2006.ISBN: 9789004216853Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Finding sources: primary, secondary, teritiary
There are three general types of resources that may appear in an annotated bibliography. Primary sources provide your first-hand evidence. Secondary sources include analysis or commentary on a primary source. Tertiary sources are summaries or compilations of primary and secondary sources. For example, if you were writing a paper about James Baldwin, a primary source would be anything written by James Baldwin, a secondary source would be articles and books analyzing James Baldwin's writings, and a tertiary source would be an encyclopedia entry about James Baldwin. An annotated bibliography is a type of tertiary source.
- University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowGreat for finding books and databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowGreat for finding articles and essays across multiple disciplines
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Citation Linking and Impact Factor
- Google ScholarEntries in Google Scholar include a "Cited by" list.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch results in Web of Science can be arranged by "Most Cited"
- Google Scholar Citation GadgetA Google Scholar Universal Gadget which enables users to search for the total number of citations per author. It provides a total citation count, total number of cited publications and H-Index.
Citation Management
Citation management tools are programs that collect records or citations from research databases (indexes, catalogs, etc.) that you can then organize for your research projects. They also help you cite your research by creating bibliographies, citations, and footnotes automatically.
- Citation Management(Zotero, EndNote Web)
Learning Online
Zotero is extremely easy to learn. Watch this brief archived webinar to get started with the Zotero software.
For further help with the software, Zotero's website provides extensive tutorials and guides to help you get started.
