Library Guides: Religion: Getting Started

Quick Links

Orientation 2024 slides and handout

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
Encyclopedia of Religion Online (2nd ed. 2005) This link opens in a new window
Intelex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
InteLex Corporations Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. InteLex acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.
From their website
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English,
Oxford Handbooks Online in Religion This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Religion
UChicago Library on YouTube
Videos to help you get started.

Library Orientation: Divinity 2023

Library Orientation Slides Divinity 2023

Getting Started

Consult the resources listed below to get started researching a course paper or thesis. There are many more resources listed elsewhere in this Resource Guide. Please contact Anne Knafl, the Subject Specialist featured in the right-hand column, to arrange for a research consultation.

Tip: As you read, always check the notes and bibliography to find publications related to your topic.

Take an audio tour of the Regenstein and Mansueto Libraries and find more videos about using Library services on our Youtube channel, both linked below.

UChicago Library on YouTube
Videos to help you get started.
Audio Tour of Regenstein and Mansueto Libraries
This self-guided audio tour will lead you through the seven floors of the Regenstein Library, as well as the Mansueto Library, describing key spaces, services, and collections throughout. While only scratching the surface of all the libraries offer, we hope the tour empowers you to engage deeply with the vast collections available.

To experience the tour, play the audio file corresponding to your location. The audio files include brief instructions to navigate to each station in order, starting at the entrance to Regenstein. Listen in order or find the stations of specific interest to you.

Learn More about a Topic

Consult a reference source, such as a Companion, Handbook or Encyclopedia, to gain broad knowledge about a topic and the major scholarly trends surrounding it.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.

All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
Encyclopedia of Religion Online (2nd ed. 2005) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online in Religion This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Finding Books

The University of Chicago Library has a very strong collection of scholarly books. Try a basic keyword search on your topic to find books. Too many results? Try Advanced Search and search in Subject or Title.

Tip: Sort by "Date Descending" to see the most recent publications

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Advanced Search
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Not finding what you want in the UChicago catalog? Search library catalogs worldwide.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Finding Articles

Individual journal articles are not indexed in the Library catalog, only the journal title. To find journal articles on your topic you will need to consult a separate database.

Tip: JSTOR is great for searching across multiple disciplines, but has limited content for individual areas. To find a broad range of articles within a specific area you will need to consult a subject specific database.

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Keyword search in this database to find peer reviewed journal articles on your topic.
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Need a PDF of an article? Search on the title in this database.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations

Finding Primary Sources

Consult the Primary Sources tab in the left hand column for a list of primary source resources in Religion. Can't find what you need? Browse our Database Finder and contact Anne using the link in the right hand column.

If you are looking for archival materials, consider the resources listed below.

Campus Publications
& more less...
Digitized campus publications, including the University of Chicago Record, Magazine, Cap and Gown (yearbook), and the Daily Maroon (1902-1920)
University Archives
The University Archives documents the history of the University of Chicago, the work of its faculty, and the life of the academic community.
& more less...
The University Archives acquires and preserves materials in all formats, including electronic and digital. University Archives collections include records of the University administration and academic units; papers of faculty members, trustees, administrators, students, and alumni; publications; photographs; video and film; sound recordings; and memorabilia. The current extent of the University Archives collections over 68,000 linear feet.
University of Chicago Digital Collections
Images and web exhibits curated by the Special Collections Research Center.
University of Chicago Photographic Archive
& more less...
The University of Chicago Photographic Archive digital collection includes more than 46,000 images documenting the University of Chicago and its history. Images depict Buildings and Grounds, Events, Student Activities, and Yerkes Observatory. Additional images depicting Individuals and Groups, Sports, and Yerkes Observatory are being added to the digital collection as they are completed.

Building Your Bibliography

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Need more recent publications? Google Scholar will tell you who has cited a book or article. Search for the title and click the "CIted by" link.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Dissertations have comprehensive bibliographies on a topic as well as literature reviews of the history of scholarship within each chapter.
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Citation Management (Zotero, Endnote)

Use a citation management tool, such as Zotero or Endnote, to collect, organize and annotate your references and to create notes and bibliographies.

Citation Management
(Zotero, EndNote Web)

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion