Library Guides: Religion: Reference Sources

Handbooks & Companions to

Oxford Handbooks Online in Religion This link opens in a new window
The Library also subscribes to Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy, Archaeology, Classics and Linguistics.
Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Blackwell Companions to Religion series
print copies
Cambridge Companions to Religion series
Mostly print

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.

All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

Encyclopedias

Some of the important encyclopedias in Religious Studies, available in either print or electronic (or both).

Encyclopedia of Religion Online (2nd ed. 2005) This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia of Religion (1987 ed. by Eliade)
This 16 volume print edition is still a classic.

Brill Dictionary of Religion This link opens in a new window
Illustrated, online version of the 4-volume print edition, which was translated from German and published in 2006. Includes 500+ entries for key terms in religious studies, with an emphasis on religion and public life.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
1st and 2nd editions available in print through the catalog
Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. (Description by Gale)
Encyclopedia of Law and Religion Online This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Law and Religion, unique in its breadth and global coverage, provides an important foundational resource for study of these issues. The encyclopedia covers the relation between law and religion in its various aspects, including those related to the role of religion in society, the relations between religion and state institutions, freedom of religion, legal aspects of religious traditions, the interaction between law and religion, and other issues at the junction of law, religion, and state.
Europa Sacra Online This link opens in a new window
This resource intends to provide "unrivalled coverage of medieval Church prelates" including "information on all 1300 medieval bishiprics, archdioceses and patriarchates under obedience to Rome." When complete, it will also include information about members of religious orders and data on secular clergy supplied by nationally-based prosopographical projects.
Religion Past and Present Online This link opens in a new window
Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide: the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). This resource, now at last available in English and Online, Religion Past and Present Online continues the tradition of deep knowledge and authority relied upon by generations of scholars in religious, theological, and biblical studies. Including the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present Online encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion.

Dictionaries

Below is a list of examples of dictionaries in Religious Studies, You can find dictionaries on specific topics by searching the UChicago Library catalog. For instance, here is a subject search for religion AND dictionaries.

Anchor Bible Dictionary Online
Also available in print

Digital Dictionaries of South Asia This link opens in a new window
Searchable dictionaries of South Asian languages.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.

Silva Rhetoricae: The Forest of Rhetoric
A guide to the terms of classical and renaissance rhetoric produced by Dr. Gideon Burton of Brigham Young University.
& more less...
This online rhetoric, provided by Dr. Gideon Burton of Brigham Young University, is a guide to the terms of classical and renaissance rhetoric. ... This site is intended to help beginners, as well as experts, make sense of rhetoric, both on the small scale (definitions and examples of specific terms) and on the large scale (the purposes of rhetoric, the patterns into which it has fallen historically as it has been taught and practiced for 2000+ years).
From the Website.

Statistics

Association of Religion Data Archives
& more less...
The ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports. Over 450 surveys and other data collections are available for online preview and virtually all can be downloaded free of charge.

Europa Sacra Online This link opens in a new window
This resource intends to provide "unrivalled coverage of medieval Church prelates" including "information on all 1300 medieval bishiprics, archdioceses and patriarchates under obedience to Rome." When complete, it will also include information about members of religious orders and data on secular clergy supplied by nationally-based prosopographical projects.

Pew Research Center: Religion
& more less...
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Includes statistics on religions in the US
Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.

Yearbook of American Churches
& more less...
Available in print: 1915-1972

World Religion Database (Brill) This link opens in a new window
The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050

Gateways to Other Resources

There are numerous gateways and portals to online resources in religious studies. I've just listed two. Feel free to send me other suggestions.

Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion
& more less...
The Wabash Center supports teachers of religion and theology in higher education through meetings and workshops, grants, consultants, a journal and other resources to make accessible the scholarship of teaching and learning. All Wabash Center programs are funded by Lilly Endowment Inc.
Internet Public Library (IPL2): Religion and Theology

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.