Library Guides: Chemistry: Data compilations and guides on the web

Data Compilations and Collections

Many compilations of chemical and physical properties for chemical substances are in existence. Some recommended online resources are list below.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Includes a table (Section 3) with summary of data about common organic compounds
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 35 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Physical and chemical properties for millions of organic, inorganic and organometallic substances
Provides access to over 8 million organic compounds, 5 million chemical reactions, and 35 million associated chemical and physical properties, with corresponding references. Text, numeric, substructure, and reaction searching provided. Derived from the print Beilstein handbook and chemistry patents this database covers the literature from 1771 to present. Structure, numeric, and text searching are available. Special Use Instructions: Structure, numeric, and text searching are available.
SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Bornstein Database This link opens in a new window

NIST Chemistry WebBook.
Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Washington, D.C..
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
ThermoLit
Select system type, search for simple molecules and then select the property to get a report on the substance
NIST Data Gateway
Access a variety of critically evaluated data on compounds, including spectral, chemical and physical properties
Sigma-Aldrich chemical products website
Company name is now Millipore Sigma but they still offer free access to melting point, boiling point, and spectral information for most common, commercially available chemical substances
Journal of Chemical and Physical Reference Data
Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants (Kaye & Laby)
Uses British spellings (e.g., vapour instead of vapor). 16th edition (1995)

Indexes to Data Published in Books and Online

Data located in specific reference books can be difficult to locate. These indexes provide tools for finding data that may be difficult to locate online sources.

Thermodex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks.
Developed by the General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin.
This database contains records for over 120 printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data. Search UChicago catalog for individual titles.
Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
An index to selected library print and internet resources that contain chemical, physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, toxicological, and safety data.

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and Geophysical Sciences Librarian
Send Email