Library Guides: Chemistry: Chemistry on mobile devices

Chemistry Tools

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Optimized site; no download

Also available as an app for iPhone
ChemJuice
Structure drawing app for iPhone, iPod Touch. Email structures as molfiles.
$2.99
LC Calculator
This liquid chromatography app calculates flow rate and back pressure under a variety of conditions and column dimensions.
Free
JACS Image Challenge
Each challenge is a multiple-choice question about the concepts portrayed in an image from an Article or Communication recently published in JACS.
Free
ChemDoodle Mobile
Full functinality for this structure drawing app requires a ChemDoodle account which is available upon purchase of the desktop version of the ChemDoodle software.
Free version does not allow saving of structures
Elemental
Chemical structure editor, includes the ability to sketch stereochemistry, reactions and also allows export of images for presentations and reports.
Free

Other Chemistry Apps

Macs in Chemistry - Mobile Science
Lists a number of different paid and free apps, including several that are chemistry oriented. Included are a ph buffer guide, chemistry calculators and more.
Mobile chemistry - chemistry in your hands and in your face
Article in "Chemistry World" journal May 2010 describes several apps for mobile devices and gives links to several sites for more information.

Research Articles

ACS Mobile
Get ASAP articles for your list of journals. C&EN latest news feed. Full text articles through VPN or authenticated wireless. Available for iPhone/Touch, Android and iPad
$4.99
SciFinder Mobile
Using your SciFinder Web account and smartphone browser, search topic, author, substance information. No structure searching available. Works with Apple, Google Android, Nokia Maemo and Symbian, and RIM BlackBerry smartphones.
Optimized site; no download
C&EN Mobile
Provides access to daily news updates from C&EN Online, analysis and commentary from the CENtral Science blog network, and the latest chemistry job postings. Full issue content requires purchase; free to ACS members starting 2012 as member benefit. Available for iPhone and Android.
Free
RSC Mobile
Search the content of Royal Society of Chemistry journals while on the UChicago wireless network. Save articles to read offline later. iOS only; Android version is in development.
Free
SPRESImobile
Provides direct access to ChemReact, a subset of the SPRESI structure and reaction database, which contains more than 400,000 unique reaction types and the related references.
Free
SciVerse ScienceDirect for iPhone
SciVerse ScienceDirect online then you can access exactly the same journals and books from your iPhone. App requires free ScienceDirect user account registration to set up login and password.
Free; registration required
nature.com Mobile App
View news items from Nature. Register for a free nature.com account using Library subscription and have full text access to articles.
Free
Annual Reviews mobile website
Point your mobile device browser to the AR website to see content optimized for a smaller screen. To use your device to access content from off campus, pair your device to UChicago subscription - more details at http://www.annualreviews.org/page/about/mobile
Optimized site; no download

Chemical Safety and First Responder Tools

Chemical Compatiblity Database (Cole-Parmer)
Want to know if you can use polypropylene gloves to handle acetone? This app provides compatiblity information for combinations of materials (e.g., containers, protective clothing options) and common chemicals.
iPad/iPhone compatible
Free

Chemical Safety Data Sheets
Search by chemical name or CAS RN or RTECS number
Information on fire/explosive hazards and first aid/firefighter response method; eye/skin/ingestion exposure symptoms and first aid treatment; spill response, storage and packaging; physical properties, etc. Based on International Chemical Safety Cards by IPCS Review committee
iPad/iPhone compatible
Free

WISER
This National Library of Medicine resource is available for download as a standalone application or via WebWISER. Provides identification, equipment considerations, protective measures, fire procedures, reactivities, first aid treatment and other information for commonly encountered chemicals
Windows Mobile devices, Palm OS PDAs, Apple iPhone and iPod Touch, BlackBerry devices, Microsoft Windows PCs
Free

HazMat Reference and Emergency Response Guide
On the back and side of every truck or train carrying hazardous material is a diamond shaped placard with a 4 digit code. HazMat will allow you to translate that code to the name of the substance transported and provides first responder information in plain English.
iPad/iPhone compatible
$4.99

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and Geophysical Sciences Librarian
Send Email