Library Guides: Chinese Studies: Films

Finding Films in the UChicago Library Catalog

Use the UChicago Library Catalog to search for specific Chinese-language films.

Select "Chinese" under "Language" and "Video" under "Format."
Use the "Title" option to look films by title. Use the "Author" option for director.

Refer to the following guide on how to find films for more information:

How do I find films?
by Ask a Librarian Updated Oct 14, 2024 589 views this year

Streaming Films

Asian Film Online
Asian Film Online: Volume I offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on peoples everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Faculty and students engaged in area studies, anthropology, film studies, philosophy, geography, education, religion, gender studies, world literature, urban development, cross-cultural communication, journalism, social sciences, and humanities will benefit from exploring this rare collection of films that make silent voices heard.
From their website
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students, faculty, and staff with access to a variety of documentary and feature films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Psychotherapy.net and more.
Ethnographic Video Online
Part of Alexander Street Press's "Anthropology," which brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior the world over.
New World Cinema
Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-Present.
New World Cinema includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have major awards. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.

Center for East Asian Studies (CEAS) Film Library

The CEAS Film Library, one of the largest East Asian DVD collections in the U.S., includes historical films, documentaries, TV series, and contemporary cinema.

The collection is not integrated into the library catalog. Search through the CEAS online catalog. Watch the video tutorial for instructions on using the catalog.

Open for browsing and borrowing by appointment. Email Myra Su msu@uchicago.edu at least 2 business days in advance to schedule.

Location: 1155 E. 60th Street, Room 309, Chicago, IL 60637.

Due to large construction projects in the building, the CEAS Film Library will be closed from June 7 through September 28, 2025. Plan ahead and check out films you will need to utilize over the summer and to prepare for the start of the Fall 2025 quarter before Monday, June 2, 2025.

Licensed Film Resources

Chinese Film and Newsreel Scripts from the Cultural Revolution Online
Socialism on Film
A collection of films from the 20th-century communist world, including the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain, and Cuba, that unveils war, history, current affairs, culture, and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Archives and Open Access Film Resources

Chinese Film Classics
A collaborative research and learning project led by Christopher Rea. Including a collection of early Chinese films and resources on early Chinese films.
Modern Chinese Cultural Studies (on YouTube)
Videos on modern Chinese cinema, literature, and culture. By Christopher Rea.
& more less...
"- The world's largest collection of early Chinese films with English subtitles, many translated for the first time
- Playlists highlighting the best scenes from early Chinese films, Chinese animation, movie music, modern writers, and more
- Online course on Chinese Film Classics
- Online course on The Modern Chinese Novel"
Chinese Independent Film Archive
Information on independent films, film festivals, and film scholarship.
& more less...
One of the outcomes of an AHRC (UK Arts and Humanities Research Council) funded project entitled “Independent Cinema in China: State, Market and Film Culture.”
Chinese Movies Database 中文電影資料庫
Chinese language movies and TV programs database covering production, cast and crew, awards and biographies, reviews and books, and other information.
Hong Kong Movie Database 香港影庫
Information on films, cast and crew members, and companies associated with Hong Kong cinema. In English and Chinese.
China Film Archive 中国电影资料馆
Hong Kong Film Archive 香港電影資料館
Taiwan Film and Audiovisual Institute 國家電影及視聽文化中心
(Bibliothèque Numérique Asiatique/Asian Digital Library) Film Collection
Over 100 Chinese films from 1922 to 1997.