Library Guides: Arts + Public Life: Finding Articles

Starting Points for Scholarly Articles

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Recommended for finding PDFs of a specific article or book chapter
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Recommended for searching across disciplines
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

How do I find articles?
Tips for finding articles by citation and by browsing

Specialized Databases

These databases focus on key journals and publications in specific fields.

They offer more advanced search features, and can result in better, focused search results. Look for the icon with "Find It!" to locate the article in Library collections.

See the "Articles" tabs on specific Subject Guides to find databases for articles in specific areas of study.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Citations of articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
The Music Index Online is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1970 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.

Citation Linking

Want to know who has cited an article? Google Scholar and Web of Science provide citation linking tools.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Online Journal Collections

Here are some collections of online journals, but if you're exploring a topic, I suggest using a journal article index such as those listed above.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now over 8000 journals in the directory.
Digizeitschriften - Deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv This link opens in a new window
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s. The journals are in German, English, or other European languages and date back to their first volumes. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics (one- fourth of all titles), literature, history, the arts, economics, and law. Other fields covered include education, geology, librarianship, music, religion, sciences, and sociology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Humanities, Molecular Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences