Skip to main content

How do I find books?

Tips

Library staff can always help you find a book (during work hours). If you see a library employee working in the stacks, don't hesitate to ask them to show you were a book is located.

Finding Your Book on the Shelf

Books can be located in any of our six campus libraries. When you search the catalog, you will see the Library and building location with the call number in the results screen.  For items with multiple copies, you will need to view the full catalog record and look under "Holdings".

Library Catalog Holdings screenshot

Note the Library building and location along with the call number. Click on the map link to determine the location within the building. Maps and call number guides are also posted at each campus library. Most items on open shelving are located in the bookstacks.

Not sure how to find your book on the shelf? 

Learn how to read call numbers.

Book missing from the shelf?

Click on "Can't Find It?" in the Catalog to request Library staff search for the item.

Requestable Collections

Some books are not held on open shelving, and must be requested from the following locations:

Mansueto Library

The Mansueto Library is an automated storage facility.  You must request items from Mansueto

Library Course Reserves

You must request items on reserve at the circulation desk. Finding Course Reserves

Special Collections Research Center

Items must be used in the Special Collections Research Center's reading room. Requesting items from Special Collections

Map Collection

Ask for assistance from Map Collection staff members in Regenstein, Room 370.

Other Collections

There are other small collections not on open shelves in the Library.  If you need help, please Ask a Librarian.