The website offers information on the state archival institutions and makes known the materials relating to records management and archive administration. There is also information on genealogy, archival publications, legislation, and professional training. A considerable part of the materials illustrate various aspects of the history of Belarus and the spiritual and material life of the Belarusian people.
Frantsysk Skaryna (1490-1535), publisher influential in the development of the Belarusian literary language
The National Library of Belarus (NLB) was founded on September 15, 1922, originally as the Belarusian State and University Library. Since that year the Library has received a free legal deposit copy of printed publications issued in the USSR and two Belarusian deposit copies.
Materials of the Russian Diaspora covering the period from 1917 to the present, comprised of several large 'sub-collections' documenting the lives of Russian exiles, including:
-“Militaria”-- documenting the life of the Russian White Army in Gallipoli and beyond
-More than 10,000 books. Genres include poetry, fiction, history, memoirs, philosophy, religious studies, politics and children's literature.
- Archive of the Union of Russian Taxi Drivers in Paris, which includes membership cards and dossiers, and much of the organization's official documents. The collection also includes the archives of The Paris Union of Russian Nurses and of various dioceses of the Russian Orthodox Church in Diaspora. Contains hundreds of photographs, postcards, and numismatic items, as well as original artwork and other significant archival materials.
A directory and bibliographic information system for archives in the Russian Federation, founded by Dr Patricia Kennedy Grimsted.
The ABB database currently contains data about nearly 700 archives and manuscript repositories of the Russian Federation, with their administering agencies (as appropriate). The website now displays nearly close to 400 repositories for which coverage has now been updated. On-line coverage extends to nearly 300 federal, local state and non-state repositories, including libraries, museums, and academic institutions in Moscow and St. Petersburg. Data for individual repositories and their various divisions includes their history, brief characterization of holdings, access provisions, working conditions, and reference facilities, with complete bibliography of guides, and specialized finding aids (total over 8,000 records), including links to those on line. Basic listings also extend to over 100 state archives throughout the Russian Federation. This English-language coverage should alert researchers abroad to the wealth of holdings and research opportunities.
The Bakhmeteff Archive consists primarily of letters, diaries, memoirs, tapes, photographs, and other documentary materials, currently containing at least 1,680,000, items in more than 1,500 collections. These include 73,000 items in the three collections on deposit from the Free Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in New York (UVAN), and 43,000 items in other deposits. As of September 2002, qualified researchers have access to 991 collections.
The oldest material in the Bakhmeteff Archive dates from the fifteenth century. The main focus of the collection, however, has been on twentieth century Russia and the Soviet Union, and on Russian emigration after the 1917 revolution and World War II.
The Archive's holdings have four main focal areas, each consisting of materials of both personal and institutional origin.
-Prominent Literary Figures of the Russian Emigration
-Institutions and Organizations
A comprehensive guide to Russian culture from the end of serfdom in 1861 to the war in Chechenia. There are two main parts to the book - the first examines cultural identity from a number of perspectives - language, religion, ideology, geography (boundaries with Asia and the West), history and politics. The second, headed literature and the arts, covers literature, theatre, music, art and film. All the key figures are included - from Anna Akhmatova to Solzhenitsyn, from Bulgakov to Stanislavsky, and from Ivan the Terrible to Eisenstein.
A project of the History Faculty of Moscow State University and part of its Library of Electronic Resources (Biblioteka elektronnykh resursov). Texts are categorized by era (Drevnii Vostok, Srednie veka, Russia up to the 18th century, etc.)
The database contains information on 1,426 imperfective verbs in Russian that form aspectual pairs via prefixation (there are 1,981 prefixed perfective partner verbs, because of the fact that many base verbs combine with multiple prefixes).
Les fonds slaves de la bibliothèque de l'ENS de Lyon sont un vaste gisement documentaire consacré à la civilisation russe et slave. Adossé aux collections russes de la bibliothèque, cet ensemble est né de l'arrivée à l'ENS de Lyon en 2002 de l'ancienne Bibliothèque slave de Meudon. Née au XIXe siècle, cette bibliothèque jésuite riche de 80 000 documents, appelée aujourd'hui le fonds slave des jésuites, est une ressource de dimension internationale sur le monde russe, sur l'histoire européenne, sur les relations franco-russes, et sur l'histoire des églises chrétiennes, catholique et orthodoxe en particulier. Depuis une dizaine d'années, plusieurs bibliothèques de chercheurs et d'enseignants du monde russe sont venues enrichir les fonds slaves qui comptent aujourd'hui plus de 100 000 documents.
Collections historiques de l'ENS de Lyon
Environ 5000 documents
Histoire, géographie et civilisation
Le fonds Pierre Péchoux (2000)
Environ 1050 documents
80% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Géographie de la Russie, littérature russe classique du xixème siècle, histoire moderne et contemporaine de la Russie.
Le fonds slave des jésuites (2002)
Environ 80 000 documents
60% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Plus de 1500 titres de périodiques
Langue russe, littérature russe, linguistique slave, histoire et civilisation russes, droit et diplomatie russes, géographie de la Russie, histoire générale de la philosophie et de la pensée européenne, philosophie russe, sciences religieuses, histoire des églises, histoire de la religion russe, histoire de l'orthodoxie et de l'Eglise orthodoxe.
Le fonds Négrignat (2003)
Environ 2300 documents
60% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Histoire de l'URSS, civilisation russe, histoire politique du xxe siècle.
Le fonds Guilhembet (2004)
Environ 1350 documents.
80% de documents en cyrillique
Littérature russe et études de la langue russe.
Le fonds Cornelis Van Schooneveld (2004)
Environ 14000 documents
60% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Linguistique, linguistique et littérature russes et slaves, civilisation et histoire russes et slaves
130 titres de périodiques recensés, consacrés aux études linguistiques, dont 50% en langue slave : bulgare, serbo-croate, slovène, slovaque, polonais et russe.
Le fonds Kastler (2004)
Don de Claude Kastler, professeur en études russes
Environ 300 documents majoritairement en cyrillique
histoire et littérature de l'URSS
Archives Voronski, documents qui ont servi à l'écriture du livre de Claude Kastler « Alexandre Voronski (1884-1943). Un bolchevik fou de littérature ». Editions ELLUG, 2000.
Le fonds Dabbadie (2005)
Don de Denis Dabbadie, professeur de russse
Environ 300 documents en cyrillique
Art et histoire russes
Le fonds Ivanoff-Limant (2006)
Don de Mme Ivanoff-Limant, professeur de russe
Environ 2500 documents
80% en cyrillique
Périodiques et monographies
Littérature russe, études de la langue russe, littérature et histoire de l'émigration russe
Documents qui ont servi aux travaux de recherche de Mme Ivanoff-Limant sur Marina Tsvetaeva.
Le fonds Lambert (2007)
Don de Mme Lambert, professeur de russe
Environ 400 documents
80% de documents en cyrillique
Littérature russe, langue russe, histoire de la Russie.
Le fonds Maklakoff (2008)
Environ 2000 documents
80% de documents en cyrillique
Histoire et civilisation russe, émigration russe, pensée philosophique et religieuse.
Le fonds Flamant (2009)
Don de Françoise Flamant, professeur en études russes et traductrice
Environ 450 documents
Littérature et civilisation russes
A searchable database of full word paradigms with native-speaker examples for each inflection. Each entry includes an English gloss and detailed annotation for semantics and pronunciation variants. 10,000+ headwords. Must create an account to access this dictionary. A project of Duke University's Slavic & East European Language Research Center
According to its preface, this bibliography details "all known serial publications [except newspapers] appearing in the Soviet Union . . . since 1917, in all except oriental languages, such as Armenian, Georgian, Kirghiz, etc." Many titles published in the various former republics are included, but a serial must have a Russian title page and some text in Russian for it to qualify for inclusion. In all, the 2 volumes encompass nearly 30,000 entries.
Covers volumes for 1956-1975 of this subsection of the Soviet National Bibliography, providing access to the periodical literature of an essential time in modern Russian history, beginning with the period of the Khrushchev "Thaw" following the 20th CPSU Congress and continuing through the first half of the so-called Brezhnev "Period of Stagnation".
The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions. Publisher's Website
Iskusstvo kino, established in 1931, is the leading journal of Russian, and formerly Soviet, cinema. Iskusstvo kino includes critical reviews of both domestic and foreign film, as well as scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene. It was first published under title Proletarskoe kino(1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino(1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Online holdings for this database cover 1936-2012
The site comprises:
-collections of ancient and medieval Slavonic and Russian texts
-information on the developments in the field of electronic publication and methods of creation of full-text databases of hand-written treasures with complicated structure
Meeting of Frontiers is a bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest. It includes many digital collections under the headings of: Books and Other Printed Materials, Manuscripts, Maps, Sheet Music, Motion Pictures and Recorded Sound and Photographs and Prints
The goal of the project presented on these pages is to develop the Russian Reference Corpus, amounting to approximately 100 million words and covering the wide range of text types and registers in modern Russian. Basically, this is an attempt to create the Russian equivalent of the British National Corpus.
With the Document Delivery Service you can request electronic copies (digital scans) of materials in the Library's collections, excluding the manuscript collection. Please contact the Manuscript Department directly for permission to have a copy made
Includes digital publications of the Russian Academy of Sciences Institute of Russian Literature (Pushkinskii dom). Also includes links to various online reference tools such as "Pushkinskaia entsiklopediia" and the "Lichnye fondy rukopisnogo otdela".
The main objective of the Federal State Statistics Service is to meet the requirements of bodies of state authority and administration, media, general public, scientific community, commercial and international organisations for diverse, objective and exhaustive information. The system of state statistics covers district, regional and federal levels, as well as Moscow and St. Petersburg. It comprises 89 regional committees and 2,200 district departments. The Federal State Statistics Service employs about 30 thousand staff.
The Patrologia Orientalis Database (POD) is a collection of patristic texts from the Christian East, including works, recorded in non-Latin languages, that come from geographical, cultural, or religious contexts somehow linked to Rome or the Eastern Roman Empire. Texts are in Arabic, Armenian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Greek, Georgian, Slavonic and Syriac, published with a Latin, English, Italian or French translation. Currently the original text is available as a PDF and only the PO translation is a searchable. Original language texts will be searchable.
The Electronic Archive “Project for the Study of Dissidence and Samizdat” (PSDS) created by Ann Komaromi includes the Database of Soviet Samizdat Periodicals, Electronic Editions of selected Samizdat Journals, Illustrated Timelines of Dissident Movements, and Interviews with Activists. The Electronic Archive builds on the research that went into the Database of Soviet Samizdat Periodicals.
Since the inception of perestroika and continuing through the disintegration of the Soviet Union, a rigorous and vocal press has developed. This new journalism was created by individuals and groups from all sides of the political spectrum. In future years, the output of the independent presses of this era will prove to be a valuable document of these times.
In the UC Berkeley Library, we have gathered a substantial collection of the Russian independent press dating back to 1989. This collection, however, has not been incorporated into the Library's main collections and cannot be searched in the Library's on-line catalog. A searchable database for these items can be accessed through the links below.
RIBK = Rossiiskii informatsionno-bibliotechnyi konsortsium The Russian Information Library Consortium - was created in September 2003, within the framework of the EC-funded project 'Russian Libraries in the Third Millennium'.
The project, which ended in October 2004, has built up a distributed joint catalogue providing access to the bibliographic and digital resources of the five Russian libraries, partners in the consortium. -Rudomino Foreign Literature Library (VGBIL) -Moscow State University Library -National Library of Russia (St. Petersburg) -Parliamentary Library -Russian State Library (Moscow)
An English-language interface allows access to Russian archival collections of photographs, films, audio clips, and transcripts. Includes links to projects such as the Moscow State University-University of Texas at Austin project "Russian History Online: The Krushchev Years".
Russian Public Opinion Research Center (VCIOM) is the oldest and the leading marketing and opinion research company in the post-Soviet space.
We provide the data, analysis and recommendations our clients need to achieve their goals.
VCIOM conducts the "full cycle" research - from instrument design and data collection to analysis and presentation of results to the clients, in Russia and abroad in the following fields:
politics (electoral and approvement ratings, protest activity, etc…);
social (education, employment, health care, family, corruption, etc…);
business (finance and insurance, real estate and construction, trademarks, branding and reputation management, IT, media research, sports industry, automobile market, etc…).
We are headquartered in Moscow, have offices across the whole country, as well as firm ties with the polling centers around the world (from Ukraine and Germany to Japan and China). Over two decades our team that includes the best professionals in the areas of sociology, marketing, psychology, political science and finance has provided its expertise to over 2000 clients, representing both public and private sectors. We welcome you at our homepage and invite to mutually beneficial cooperation
Soviet Samizdat Periodicals is a database of information about editions of classic Soviet samizdat, 1956-1986. The Database includes approximately 300 titles, representing all known types of samizdat periodical editions from this late Soviet era, including human rights bulletins, poetry anthologies, rock zines, religious and national editions. The Database is fully searchable. Researchers will find detailed bibliographic and archival information. The site also includes information about samizdat and dissidence for the general public.
The Valdai Discussion Club provides a global forum for the world’s leading and best-informed experts on Russia to engage in a sustained dialogue about the country’s political, economic, social and cultural development.
Since 2004, the Club has gathered annually in Russia and has regularly met with the leadership of the Russian Federation, as well as Russian business leaders, media, academics, and political groups. The scope of the meetings has grown year by year, and participants now enjoy unprecedented access to Russia’s top politicians.
"Fostering a Global Dialogue About Russia."This website, which brings together contributions by participants in the Valdai Club meetings, provides a platform for incisive and informed analysis by the world’s leading commentators on the Russian scene.
SOVA Center for Information and Analysis is a Moscow-based Russian nonprofit organization founded in October 2002.
SOVA Center conducts research and informational work on nationalism and racism, relations between the churches and secular society, and political radicalism. We are also interested in human rights issues, especially government misuse of counter-extremism measures.
This survey was undertaken to study everyday life in the Soviet Union by conducting highly-structured interviews with a probability sample of eligible Soviet emigrants in the United States. An interdisciplinary research team constructed a questionnaire with the expectation that the results would contribute not only to Sovietology, but to general theories in a number of academic disciplines, especially political science, economics, and sociology. Respondents were asked to comment on topics such as: crime, culture and the arts, education, ethnicity (or nationality), family life, fertility, friends, health and diet, housing, income and earnings, language practices, mass media, military experience, political and social opinions, politics, participation in organizations, religion, satisfaction, standard of living, and work. To insure that "normal" life experiences would be described, respondents were asked to define and discuss their last normal period in the USSR. Since applying to emigrate usually brings marked changes in Soviet citizens' lives, respondents reported the month and year in which they applied to emigrate, whether plans to emigrate had significantly changed their lives even before that date, and if so, specified the month and year in which their lives changed. Interviewers then made certain that all descriptions of day-to-day life in the Soviet Union referred to the period before the question of emigration became a significant issue for respondents.
Soviet Samizdat Periodicals is a database of information about editions of classic Soviet samizdat, 1956-1986. The Database includes approximately 300 titles, representing all known types of samizdat periodical editions from this late Soviet era, including human rights bulletins, poetry anthologies, rock zines, religious and national editions. Researchers will find detailed bibliographic and archival information. The site also includes information about samizdat and dissidence for the general public. The website is intended to provide a forum for continuing discussion about this outstanding phenomenon of recent history.
Material from the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale University Press. The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series."
The database of the Virtual Museum of the Gulag constitutes a collection of material testimonies to the era of the Soviet terror. These testimonies are scattered through multiple museums and collections and also include "non-museum objects": ruins of camps and structures, monuments and memorial signs. The Virtual Museum of the Gulag is a project of the Research and Information Centre "Memorial" (St Petersburg)
The Alley of the Classics in Stephen the Great Park (Chişinău), with its busts of literary and political figures
The Institute for Cultural Memory (Bucharest) provides a catalog of Romanian books published in the 16th and 17th centuries, and a brief history about early printing. Includes books printed in present-day Moldova.
Crisis Group's Europe program researches and advocates on the Balkans [Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia], the Caucasus [Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia], as well as Cyprus, Moldova, Turkey and Turkey/Cyprus. In addition to its various reports, you can search the CrisisWatch database for access to its monthly bulletins.
This directory was compiled in recognition of the frustrations that visiting scholars and students from Ukraine have when attempting to make contact with their North American counterparts, locate programs interested in Ukrainian studies, and find financial support for publishing, research, or study in the United States and Canada.
Official site of the State Committee on Archives of Ukraine. The site includes news, announcements, and links to government archives, both central and regional, and to archival institutions of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. In Ukrainian and English.
Under the direction of Professor Maxim Tarnawsky, University of Toronto, provides free access to electronic texts of Ukrainian literature. Includes full-text of "Ukrainian Literature: A Journal of Translations"
The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine is the highest state-supported research organization, enrolling academicians, corresponding members and foreign members. It integrates all researchers of its institutions and carries out studies in various branches of knowledge, develops scientific fundamentals for technological, socio-economic and cultural advancement of the nation.
The Peter Jacyk Centre for Ukrainian Historical Research was established at the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies, University of Alberta, in 1989. In addition to the Hrushevsky Translation Project, it sponsors and English-language monograph series and the Ukrainian translation series, Ukrainian Historiography in the West.
The Shevchenko Scientific Society (SSS) is an organization of learned men and women dedicated to scholarship. It is the oldest Ukrainian academy of arts and sciences whose activities have been the mainstay of Ukrainian cultural life for over a century. Founded in 1873 in the city of Lviv, Ukraine, the Society was liquidated by the Soviet regime in 1939; however, it was reestablished in 1947 in Western Europe and in the United States, and in 1989 in Ukraine. The headquarters of the Society in the US is located in New York City; besides offices and lecture halls, it contains a specialized library, a depository of archives pertaining to Ukraine and the Ukrainian diaspora, and an art collection. The Society has chapters in Washington, DC, Philadelphia, PA, Chicago, IL, Detroit, MI, and Cleveland, OH.
The Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine is the largest library in Ukraine, established in 1918. The holdings include the collection of the Presidents of Ukraine, archive copies of Ukrainian printed documents from 1917, and archives of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Holdings include all Ukrainian publications and copies of all Ukrainian candidate and doctoral theses.