Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields
EconLit indexes articles from economics journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. It is a very good source for empirical studies on economics and finance.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
A cross-cultural database on the world's prehistory. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF). Designed to facilitate comparative ethnographical and anthropological studies. The mission is to encourage comparative studies of human behavior, society and culture.
Provides bibliographic citations and full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though many other minority groups are also included.
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Indexes from about 11,500 journals covering the years 1983 to the present.
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events. Sources include translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations.
Book reviews are an important element in the academic discussions. They are a tool for quality measurement with respect to amount of publications published annually and give an indication about the importance of a published work. IBR contains over 1.2 million entries on book reviews from the years 1985ff. The database is international and interdisciplinary, the reviews have been published in approx. 6.820 academic journals mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
IBR is updated on a monthly basis, the annual addition to the database is approx. 50.000 entries. All articles contain German and English subject classifications. This makes it easy to find book reviews written in different languages from all over the world.
Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
As well as providing the full-text of articles on Slavic, East European & Eurasian topics found in a wide variety of social sciences & humanities journals, JSTOR offers the backfile of the following journals:
-Cahiers du monde russe
-Eastern European Economics
-Europe-Asia Studies (Soviet Studies)
-Slavic & East European Journal
-Slavonic and East European Review
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Oxford Handbooks in Linguistics bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in linguistics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
The Patrologia Orientalis Database (POD) is a collection of patristic texts from the Christian East, including works, recorded in non-Latin languages, that come from geographical, cultural, or religious contexts somehow linked to Rome or the Eastern Roman Empire. Texts are in Arabic, Armenian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Greek, Georgian, Slavonic and Syriac, published with a Latin, English, Italian or French translation. Currently the original text is available as a PDF and only the PO translation is a searchable. Original language texts will be searchable.
Primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research. Since the inception of this bibliographic project in 1966, the editorial board has striven to include in it all of the important articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Therefore, it includes offprints of articles from journals or collections not on order to the Library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
The Current Digest of the (Post-)Soviet Press was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, 1991-2007
This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85.500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l'Homme, Paris.
The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions. —Publisher's Website
Iskusstvo kino, established in 1931, is the leading journal of Russian, and formerly Soviet, cinema. Iskusstvo kino includes critical reviews of both domestic and foreign film, as well as scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene. It was first published under title Proletarskoe kino(1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino(1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Online holdings for this database cover 1936-2012
Material from the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale University Press. The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series."
A portal to digital copies of German language journals, newspapers, monographs, photographs, etc. from the countries of Central and Eastern Europe (Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Bessarabia, etc.)
A project of the History Faculty of Moscow State University and part of its Library of Electronic Resources (Biblioteka elektronnykh resursov). Texts are categorized by era (Drevnii Vostok, Srednie veka, Russia up to the 18th century, etc.)
Digital library Kramerius is a project of the National Library of the Czech Republic. The digital library contains more than 6 millions of scanned pages. Some of the documents are in German, Russian, English and other languages. Provides full-text of hundreds of periodicals and monographs.
The National Library of Poland (Biblioteka Narodowa) has developed an extensive digital library which includes books, early printed books, ephemera, journals, manuscripts, music documents, prints, drawings and photographs
Includes the digitized works of a wide variety of classical and contemporary Russian authors of the 18th-20th centuries, as well as the archive of the bi-lingual journal "Philologica" and other digital projects.
Includes links to many Slavic & East European texts and corpora, such as Croatian Language Corpus, Czech Academic Corpus, Eastern Armenian National Corpus, Digital Archive of the Macedonian Language, IPI PAN Corpus of Polish, Russian National Corpora, Slovak National Corpus
A directory and bibliographic information system for archives in the Russian Federation, founded by Dr Patricia Kennedy Grimsted.
The ABB database currently contains data about nearly 700 archives and manuscript repositories of the Russian Federation, with their administering agencies (as appropriate). The website now displays nearly close to 400 repositories for which coverage has now been updated. On-line coverage extends to nearly 300 federal, local state and non-state repositories, including libraries, museums, and academic institutions in Moscow and St. Petersburg. Data for individual repositories and their various divisions includes their history, brief characterization of holdings, access provisions, working conditions, and reference facilities, with complete bibliography of guides, and specialized finding aids (total over 8,000 records), including links to those on line. Basic listings also extend to over 100 state archives throughout the Russian Federation. This English-language coverage should alert researchers abroad to the wealth of holdings and research opportunities.
The records which are preserved in the State Central Archives in Tirana, and in district archives, are all-inclusive regarding their origin, type, support, place and time of creation and in respect with information they have. The first record is dated as 6th century.
The website offers information on the state archival institutions and makes known the materials relating to records management and archive administration. There is also information on genealogy, archival publications, legislation, and professional training. A considerable part of the materials illustrate various aspects of the history of Belarus and the spiritual and material life of the Belarusian people.
The Russian/Soviet/Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) collection is one of the world's great scholarly resources for the study of this area in the twentieth century and contains some of the most important holdings of the Hoover Institution. Geographically it includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, the Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. Subject areas include twentieth-century history, politics, government, economics, military affairs, and political and social movements, especially the Russian Revolution and communism.
The Central Archives of Historical Records was established in the year 1808. Historical records of the central authorities: Crown Archives and Royal Chancery Registers (from 13th till 18th century) are kept along with the registers of the local tribunals for nobles (from 15th till 18th century) and records of public authorities, offices and institutions from the period of Partitions (1795 - 1918). Here are also records of nobles families, individuals and their estates.
Official site of the State Committee on Archives of Ukraine. The site includes news, announcements, and links to government archives, both central and regional, and to archival institutions of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. In Ukrainian and English.
The General department of archives at the Council of Ministers (GDA) it's the state institution in Republic of Bulgaria that performs in national scale the policy on the collection, the preservation, the organization and the use of archival documents with historical value.
Note that this is an online guide to the 454 microfilm reels which comprise the OPISI [finding aids] to this collection. Through Interlibrary Loan, University of Chicago students, faculty and staff have access to the OPISI/FINDING AIDS (in 454 reels] housed at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library. In your ILL request, quote call number FILM 324.247075 AR25 + SERIES NUMBER + REEL NUMBER. A print copy of the OPISI GUIDE can be found at: JN6598.K6A27 1995 Slavic Reference Collection, 2nd Floor Regenstein
In addition to the OPISI reels, there are 2,318 reels of DELA [archival documents], which only the libraries of Stanford and Harvard have in their entirety. The Library of Congress also has significant, but incomplete holdings. The University of Chicago Library has several hundred reels of selected DELA [Fond 17, Fond R-9414].
Contact the Slavic Bibliographer for further information and help in determining which OPISI & DELA are needed.
The Bakhmeteff Archive consists primarily of letters, diaries, memoirs, tapes, photographs, and other documentary materials, currently containing at least 1,680,000, items in more than 1,500 collections. These include 73,000 items in the three collections on deposit from the Free Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in New York (UVAN), and 43,000 items in other deposits. As of September 2002, qualified researchers have access to 991 collections.
The oldest material in the Bakhmeteff Archive dates from the fifteenth century. The main focus of the collection, however, has been on twentieth century Russia and the Soviet Union, and on Russian emigration after the 1917 revolution and World War II.
The Archive's holdings have four main focal areas, each consisting of materials of both personal and institutional origin.
-Prominent Literary Figures of the Russian Emigration
-Institutions and Organizations
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
The DOCUMENTS tab (Europe) leads to archival documents such as:
-Soviet Dissidents and Jimmy Carter
-The Alexeyeva File
-Anatoly S. Chernyaev Diary, 1972
-August 1991 coup in Moscow, 20 Years Later
-Berlin Wall, 50 Years Ago
-Breaking Down Soviet Military Secrecy
-Bush and Gorbachev at malta
-Through Prague to Freedom
-Charter 77 After 30 Years
-Solidarity and Martial Law in Poland: 25 Years Later
-1956 Hungarian Revolution
-Solidarity's Coming Victory: Big or Too Big?
Les fonds slaves de la bibliothèque de l'ENS de Lyon sont un vaste gisement documentaire consacré à la civilisation russe et slave. Adossé aux collections russes de la bibliothèque, cet ensemble est né de l'arrivée à l'ENS de Lyon en 2002 de l'ancienne Bibliothèque slave de Meudon. Née au XIXe siècle, cette bibliothèque jésuite riche de 80 000 documents, appelée aujourd'hui le fonds slave des jésuites, est une ressource de dimension internationale sur le monde russe, sur l'histoire européenne, sur les relations franco-russes, et sur l'histoire des églises chrétiennes, catholique et orthodoxe en particulier. Depuis une dizaine d'années, plusieurs bibliothèques de chercheurs et d'enseignants du monde russe sont venues enrichir les fonds slaves qui comptent aujourd'hui plus de 100 000 documents.
Collections historiques de l'ENS de Lyon
Environ 5000 documents
Histoire, géographie et civilisation
Le fonds Pierre Péchoux (2000)
Environ 1050 documents
80% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Géographie de la Russie, littérature russe classique du xixème siècle, histoire moderne et contemporaine de la Russie.
Le fonds slave des jésuites (2002)
Environ 80 000 documents
60% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Plus de 1500 titres de périodiques
Langue russe, littérature russe, linguistique slave, histoire et civilisation russes, droit et diplomatie russes, géographie de la Russie, histoire générale de la philosophie et de la pensée européenne, philosophie russe, sciences religieuses, histoire des églises, histoire de la religion russe, histoire de l'orthodoxie et de l'Eglise orthodoxe.
Le fonds Négrignat (2003)
Environ 2300 documents
60% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Histoire de l'URSS, civilisation russe, histoire politique du xxe siècle.
Le fonds Guilhembet (2004)
Environ 1350 documents.
80% de documents en cyrillique
Littérature russe et études de la langue russe.
Le fonds Cornelis Van Schooneveld (2004)
Environ 14000 documents
60% de documents en caractères cyrilliques
Linguistique, linguistique et littérature russes et slaves, civilisation et histoire russes et slaves
130 titres de périodiques recensés, consacrés aux études linguistiques, dont 50% en langue slave : bulgare, serbo-croate, slovène, slovaque, polonais et russe.
Le fonds Kastler (2004)
Don de Claude Kastler, professeur en études russes
Environ 300 documents majoritairement en cyrillique
histoire et littérature de l'URSS
Archives Voronski, documents qui ont servi à l'écriture du livre de Claude Kastler « Alexandre Voronski (1884-1943). Un bolchevik fou de littérature ». Editions ELLUG, 2000.
Le fonds Dabbadie (2005)
Don de Denis Dabbadie, professeur de russse
Environ 300 documents en cyrillique
Art et histoire russes
Le fonds Ivanoff-Limant (2006)
Don de Mme Ivanoff-Limant, professeur de russe
Environ 2500 documents
80% en cyrillique
Périodiques et monographies
Littérature russe, études de la langue russe, littérature et histoire de l'émigration russe
Documents qui ont servi aux travaux de recherche de Mme Ivanoff-Limant sur Marina Tsvetaeva.
Le fonds Lambert (2007)
Don de Mme Lambert, professeur de russe
Environ 400 documents
80% de documents en cyrillique
Littérature russe, langue russe, histoire de la Russie.
Le fonds Maklakoff (2008)
Environ 2000 documents
80% de documents en cyrillique
Histoire et civilisation russe, émigration russe, pensée philosophique et religieuse.
Le fonds Flamant (2009)
Don de Françoise Flamant, professeur en études russes et traductrice
Environ 450 documents
Littérature et civilisation russes
Includes many important archival collections on Communism and the Cold War [including the records of Radio Free Europe, Radio Liberty), Human Rights, Soros Foundations, etc., many of which can browsed online.
The records consist primarily of clippings, abstracts of media reports, and monitoring of television and radio broadcasts. Also included is the record set of publications of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL) and its predecessors (Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty). The records of the Institute for the History of Communism, an independent entity affiliated with the Radios, are also present.
An English-language interface allows access to Russian archival collections of photographs, films, audio clips, and transcripts. Includes links to projects such as the Moscow State University-University of Texas at Austin project "Russian History Online: The Krushchev Years".
State archives of Montenegro were founded in 1951. It inherited the documentation of the State archives of Montenegro which started operating in 1895. It owns the records of Montenegrin ministries from the very beginning of their work, back to 1879, the records of the Great Court, State Council, Ministerial Council, National Assembly and other administrative bodies founded up to 1916 as well as of emigrant governments that operated between 1916 and 1921. and Montenegrin Unification Committee (1917-1918). As a home institution, State Archives of Montenegro have been overtaking the records of the republic registry offices and institutions ever since it was founded. They process the material and make it available for scientific researches. State Archives of Montenegro preserve over 75 archive funds containing four and a half million of different documents in its terminals.