A guide to locating newspapers for your research.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2015
Full-text editions of historical African American newspapers.
For full-text articles from most major US newspapers published since the mid-1990s, search the news databases listed below.
See also Chicago Newspapers.
- ProQuest Newsstand
Contains many major US newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune. Can be searched with ProQuest's historical newspaper collections.
Full-text of most major US newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Will often include online content (blogs, online-only articles) normally available on newspaper websites. Select "Sources" to locate specific titles or newspapers by geography.
- LexisNexis Academic
Includes a broad collection of national, local and regional newspapers, and aggregates articles from newspapers not included in LexisNexis Academic.
- Newspaper Source
U.S. and some selected international newspapers.
For articles from newspapers that are no longer published, weekly newspapers, or specialized newspapers, search the following databases.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
- Access Newspaper Archive
Covers US and international newspaper from 1607 - present. Includes many small town and neighborhood newspapers not included in other databases.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Includes a broad collection of African American newspapers published around the country, starting with the first African American paper Freedom's Journal through the 20th century.
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes alternative radical and left newspapers and periodicals published since 1990.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes alternative radical and left newspapers and periodicals published between 1969-1990.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full text of hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 through 1922, with extensive coverage of newspapers published in the colonial period to 1820.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find lists of newspapers published between 1690-present. Limit by era, region, or languages.
- Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
130 searchable newspapers published representing a wide variety of U.S. immigrant communities and cultural groups.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Indexes newspapers from the African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino communities, along with newspapers representing other cultural groups.
- Google News Archives
Browse select back issues of newspapers around the world from the 19th and 20th centuries. Organized by title. Can be difficult to limit by date.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Includes Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of U.S. newspapers that have been digitized.
- LGBT Life with Full Text
Indexes many Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender newspapers and periodicals.