A guide to locating newspapers for your research.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014
These databases include full-text of articles from newspapers around the world, primarily since the mid-1990s.
Full-text of major newspapers from around the world, including publications in Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Also includes content (blogs, online-only articles) normally available on newspaper websites. Select "Sources" to locate specific titles or limit your search by country/region.
Canadian news database with extensive coverage of newspapers with from around the world in French, English, Spanish, German, etc. Especially strong in content from Canada, the U.S., and Europe.
- World Newspaper Archive
A collection of digitized, historical newspapers from around the globe, created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest newspaper repositories.
- FBIS Electronic Index
An index to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reportsfor 1975-1996. Sources include translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations. Microfilm collection available at****
- ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects
The International Coalition on Newspapers website includes links to collections of international newspapers that have been digitized.
- LexisNexis Academic
Includes a broad collection of national, local and regional newspapers, and aggregates articles from newspapers not included in LexisNexis Academic.
- World News Connection
Provides access to news sources from all over the world, translated into English.
No longer updated after December, 2013
- Google News Archive Search