This is the "Chicago Newspapers" page of the "How do I find newspapers?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How do I find newspapers?   Tags: chicago, news, newspapers  

A guide to locating newspapers for your research.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Chicago Newspapers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chicago Newspapers on Microfilm

Preliminary comprehensive city plan of Chicago, 1946.

Chicago Daily Journal
(Other Title: Daily Chicago Journal)
microfm AN14.C4C4
1853-1861

Chicago Daily News
microfm AN2 22.3
1875-1978

Chicago Defender (Weekend Ed.)
microfm AN2 22.6
1909-2011

Chicago Defender (Daily Ed.)
microfm AN2 22.5
1956-2007

Chicago Evening Journal
microfm AN14.C4C4
1861-1871

Chicago Journal
microfm AN14.C4C6
1979-1983

Chicago Record Herald
microfm AN2 22.8
1901-1914

Chicago Sun-Times
(Other titles: Chicago Sun, Chicago Sun and Times)
microfm AN2 22.9
1941-2009

Chicago Times
(Other title: Daily Chicago Times)
microfm AN2 22.93
1856-1895

Chicago Times-Herald
microfm AN2 22.94
1895-1901

Chicago Today
1966-1974
microfm AN2 22.97

Chicago Weekly Journal
(Also Weekly Chicago Journal)
microfm AN14.C4C5
1853, 1845-1850

Citizen
microfm AN14.C4C46
1882-1914, 1917-1923

Crain’s Chicago Business
microfm HF3163.C4C72
1980-

Drover's Journal
microfm AN2 22.2
1882-1968

Gay Life
microfm HQ75.G35
1975-1986

Hyde Park Herald
microfm F548.68.H9H8
1882-2000

Mexico
microfm AN14.C4M49
1925-1930

Nacional
microf AN14.C4M49
1930-1931

Reader
microfm AN14.C4R3
1971-

Vorbote
microfm AN14.C4V67
1917-1924

Windy City Times
microfm HQ75.W56
1985-1999

Chicago Newspapers Online

Databases Containing Chicago Newspapers

Use these databases to find articles from Chicago newspapers.

Chicago Newspaper Collections

Below are additional resources for identifying Chicago newspapers.

  • Chicago Newspaper Chronology - Harold Washington Library
    A list of Chicago newspapers held at the CPL's Harold Washington Library, organized by date. Helpful for determining what newspapers were being published at a given time.
  • U.S. Newspapers at the University of Chicago Library
    This database includes U.S. newspapers held in print or microform by the University of Chicago Library, based on a survey conducted by the Illinois Newspaper Project in 1999. This resource is NOT UPDATED.
  • Chicago History Museum
    The Chicago History Museum's Research Center has an extensive collection of Chicago and suburban newspapers. The Museum also maintains a newspaper clipping file.
  • Chicago Public Library
    The Chicago Public Library has one of the largest collections of Chicago and suburban newspapers in the Chicago area. Along with the microfilm collections, Municipal Reference Collection holds an extensive clipping file and the Special Collections Department holds some neighborhood newspapers.
  • Center for Research Libraries
    CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. It has an extremely strong newspaper collection (foreign, domestic, and specialized), and liberal borrowing policies.
  • Illinois Newspaper Project Database
    Search newspaper holdings at libraries around Illinois, compiled by the Illinois Newspaper Project. Includes some holdings for Chicago newspaper.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Contact Info
Phone: 773-702-4685
Email
Visit Us
Chat:

Misc. Illlinois Newspapers

Microfilm of Illinois newspapers, including scattered issues from a wide variety of Chicago papers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Click on the collection for a list of titles.

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip