Library Guides: SOSC 13300: Social Science Inquiry: Find Articles on a Topic

Interdisciplinary Databases

Below are some interdisciplinary research databases that search for journal articles on a wide range of academic subjects. While they can be helpful starting places, they also can produce many results that might not match your specific research question.

Articles Plus
Articles Plus searches across library databases for articles, ebooks and more in all disciplines--from humanities and social science, to business and STEM.

Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
JSTOR
Please note that JSTOR does not include recent issues (3-5 years) of many research journals, so it may not be best for very current topics!

A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of various disciplines within the social sciences.

Multidisciplinary coverage of the social sciences. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Social Science Databases

Below are research databases for finding articles from peer reviewed journals from different disciplines in the social sciences. These research databases are the best places to begin your research because they focus on core research publications in a particular discipline. The databases also provide advanced search features and limits customized for researchers in these fields.

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields

Economics

EconLit with Full Text

EconLit indexes articles from economics journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. It is a very good source for empirical studies on economics and finance.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.

Education

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.

Political Science

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Psychology

PsycINFO

Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Public Policy

PAIS International

Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.

Find It at UChicago

When searching various Library and online sources, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.