Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 15,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.
Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
CSH (Cold Spring Harbor) Protocols is a continuously expanded and updated database of new and classic laboratory research techniques. It provides authoritative and reliable methods presented in a step-by-step fashion. Coverage includes molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, immunology, neuroscience, protein science, imaging, and many other subject areas. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and has features such as discussion forums and personal folders.
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, JoVE creates and publishes videos of scientific experiments from top laboratories around the globe, allowing viewers to see the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments rather than read them in text articles.
Biological Sciences Resources in the Library
The online and print collections of the Library encompass all areas of the biological sciences with emphasis give to current and emerging areas of research and teaching.