Library Guides: Weather and Climatology: Home

Quick Links

Finding articles

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef is an index covering geological literature, with citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books. Covers North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933. Figures, tables, graphs, and other illustrations within individual articles are also indexed for searching. Limit of 4 simultaneous user(s).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

Finding data

NCEI Data (National Centers for Environmental Infromation)
NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available. This includes Local Climatological Datasets for a large number of US locations.

About this Guide

Weather and climatology encompasses a broad array of disciplines and a variety of information resources. The collection of resources highlighted here represent only a small fraction of what is available both in print in the library and online through either library purchased resources or on the web. Both current and historical information resources are highlighted. While societal, economic, legal and policy issues related to weather and climate are important areas of study, this guide focuses on scientific and technical information resources. If you have questions, or would like to schedule a consultation to explore additional resources related to your specific research need, please contact me.

Finding Articles

Meteorological and climatological research articles may be located using databases like GeoRef, Web of Knowledge or Scopus, by using a print index in the library, or by searching directly in e-journals like those published by the Royal Meteorological Society and the American Meteorological Society.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef is an index covering geological literature, with citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books. Covers North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933. Figures, tables, graphs, and other illustrations within individual articles are also indexed for searching. Limit of 4 simultaneous user(s).

Meteorological and geoastrophysical abstracts
Print index to articles located in Crerar Reference, 1st floor at Z6682.M6
& more less...
Produced by the American Meteorological Society. Library has 1950-2002.
American Meteorological Society journals
& more less...
Includes Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology, Monthly Weather Review, Journal of Physical Oceanography, Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology, Weather and Forecasting, Journal of Climate, Journal of Hydrometeorology and Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, etc.
Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society
Meteorological Applications
International Journal of Climatology

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Photographs, Video and Audio Files

FEMA Media Library
Video, photo, and audio files related to current FEMA activities, including those involving extreme weather events (e.g., Hurricane Katrina) with links to archival information in the FEMA Photo Library.
NASA Video Gallery
Includes still and video images of hurricanes, in addition to space shuttle launches and other non-weather events.
University of Chicago Bus Cam
Peek outside the window at the weather, even if you're not sitting by a window!
Webcam Directory
Real time views of the weather in cities in the US and around the world
Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory weathercam
This weathercam is located the Harrison-Dever water supply intake crib, approximately 3 miles offshore from the City of Chicago.
NOAA Photo Library/National Severe Storms Laboratory Collection
Grouped by topic, photographs of hail, tornadoes and lightning are available.
NOAA Photo Library/National Weather Service Collection
Grouped by topic, albums contain historical photos of storms, measuring instruments and methods, and weather phenomena.
Hurricanes: Nature's Greatest Storms
Chasing the Storm: Weather Photography
Nice site with links to several collections of online photos, organized by type of weather phenomenon