Library Guides: Weather and Climatology: Climatological Data for the US

Climatic Data Collections

NCEI Data (National Centers for Environmental Infromation)
NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available. This includes Local Climatological Datasets for a large number of US locations.

Recent Local Climatological Data for the US

Local climatological data (LCD) from NOAA provides monthly summary of observations made at major airport weather stations that includes a daily account of temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation and winds. Also included are the hourly precipitation and abbreviated 3-hourly weather observations.

Hourly/Sub-Hourly Observational Data: Local Climatological Data – GIS Data Locator
Map based interface allows you to click a location, or to enter the name of the data station (e.g., Chicago, Illinois) in a search box.
Climate Data Online
The datasets listed are accessible within the Climate Data Online search interface. There is also a forms based search option at http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/cdo-web/search

Annual Summaries
Daily Summaries
Monthly Summaries
Normals Annual/Seasonal
Normals Daily
Normals Hourly
Normals Monthly
Precipitation 15 Minute
Precipitation Hourly
Weather Radar (Level II)
Weather Radar (Level III)

Historical Climatological Information

An historical account of the climates and diseases of the United States of America
Observations prior to 1828.
Cooperative summary of the day
(QC983.C67 Crerar Library Multimedia)

& more less...

Geographic coverage: United States, Caribbean and Pacific Island territories and Puerto Rico
Access: In library
Dates: 1850s-1997
Language: English
Frequency: Daily
Format: CDROM
Climatological Data (historical)
From 1914-1984 all states data collected in this series. Contains station daily minimum and maximum temperatures and precipitation. Some stations provide snowfall, snow depths, evaporation, and soil temperatures. Includes monthly summary of heating and cooling days. Annual issues with further summaries. (QC983.A42 Crerar Library)

& more less...

Geographic Coverage: United States
Access: In library
Dates: 1914-1984 (look for later data by individual state)
Language: English
Frequency: Daily, with monthly and annual summaries
Format: Print

Historical Climatology Series
A collection of various publications which gather historical climatological information. Many of these titles are held in print in the Library; search individual titles in the catalog.

Contact Information

Jenny Hart
Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics Librarian
Send Email

US Organizations and Centers

American Meteorological Society
Bay Area National Weather Service ENSO Page
UCAR Home Page
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Midwestern Regional Climate Center
National Weather Service Climate Prediction Center