Other Helpful Guides
- Advanced Searching on Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw
- Preemption Check Checklist
- Researching and Writing Comments and Substantial Papers
- Legal Resources Available in PDF
- Library Guide for the Chicago Journal of International Law (CJIL)
- Administrative Law
- Empirical Legal Research: Data Sources & Repositories
- Federal Legislative History Research
- Business and Economics
Using the D'Angelo Law Library
- Call Number GuideProvides floor and range location information for specific call numbers
- Law Books in StorageTo page books that are in storage follow the instructions on the DLL Storage Collections webpage.
- Request Materials for Pickup at D'AngeloThis webpage provides instructions on how to request materials from the D'Angelo Law Library or other campus libraries for pickup at the D'Angelo Law Library Circulation Desk. This service is available only to students at the Law School.
- Scan & DeliverYou may request scanned PDFs of journal articles and judicial opinions that the Library owns that are not available electronically. You may also request up to two chapters from a book the Library owns, but no more than 20% of the entire book. The PDF should be available within 4 business days. There is a limit of 10 requests per day.
- Research GuidesAvailable on the D'Angelo Law Library web page for legislative history, congressional, supreme court, corporate and securities, treaties, intellectual property, and other areas of legal research.
- Library Collections and SubjectsProvides links to subject web pages (economics, history, sociology, etc.) created by librarian specialists in other libraries on campus.
Finding Books
To locate books, follow this 4-step process:
- Search the Library Catalog to see if the title is available through the University of Chicago Library. The catalog record will let you know if the book is available as an ebook through an ebook platform.
- If the book is only available in print, you can request pickup of the book at the D'Angelo Law Library.
- If you only need a portion or chapter of a book that the Library owns, you can place a Scan & Deliver request to get a PDF of that section.
- If the Library does not own a particular book, you can place an interlibrary loan request to get the book, or a scanned portion of the book, from another institution.
Finding Law Journal Articles
If you know the name of a specific journal and want to find the full text of articles, search the E-journals list or the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. Below are the core sources for full text of law journal articles.
- HeinOnline: Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Finding Non-Law Journals
For interdisciplinary work, start with Articles Plus. It contains articles from over 40,000 journals. If you are looking for articles from a specific journal, use the E-journals list, the Library Catalog, or Find-It! buttons to find full-text in a Library database.
Use Database Finder to locate Library databases in a particular subject. You can search by database title or browse by subject.
To configure Google Scholar to search for resources available through the University of Chicago Library, please see this guide.
