Quick Links
- HeinOnline: Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowContains law journals in PDF format and back to the journal's first issue in most instances.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Introduction
This guide is designed to introduce researchers to the different channels one may use to search for both law and non-law journal articles. The guide does not provide an overview of how to search for articles. For more step-by-step instructions for searching for articles, please consult the How to Find Articles guide.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
HeinOnline is a great place to start looking for legal scholarship. Articles Plus will search HeinOnline, but in general, it's a good resource to familiarize yourself with.
Law Journal Library One Box Citation Widget
Finding Articles
To locate articles on a specific topic, or by a specific author, you will need to search in an appropriate database. Article databases may be interdisciplinary (indexing a wide variety of publications in all fields) or may focus on a specific subject, such as law. Below are a few places to find databases containing journal articles for your research.
- Law Journal Articles
The "Quick Links" box on the left lists the major databases containing law journals.
-
For journal articles from other disciplines, start with Articles Plus, which contains articles drawn from hundreds of databases and over 40,000 journals.
-
For research in a particular subject, you should search databases specific to that subject. This guide provides a list of key article databases arranged by subject. You can also use Database Finder to locate Library databases in a particular subject. You can search by database title or browse by subject.
