Foreign Law (By country and region)

Excellent free source for basic Canadian statutes and case law. Covers both the Federal and Provincial/Territorial levels of government. However, it is not fully comprehensive, so use with care.

Westlaw Canada is our most complete source for Canadian case law, statutes, regulations, and tribunal decisions. Commentary includes the Canadian Abridgment case finding aid, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, and treatises in criminal law, labor law, family law, bankruptcy and insolvency, trusts and estates, intellectual property, litigation, and securities law.

Excellent and comprehensive page that explains the basics in addition to listing both hard-copy and digital resources.

University of Chicago login necessary.

Excellent resource that distils Canadian government and law into a basic "need-to-know" format, and much more. Also has research guides.

Contains all of the legislation and regulations at the Federal level. Cross-indexed and searchable.

The Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Canadian government, which publishes all of the statutes and regulations passed by the Federal government as well as government notices. The site is comprehensive, with the ability to search back as far as 1841.

Contains Orders in Council, Commission reports, and other Canadian government reports and publications.

Useful for finding out about legislation before Parliament, but it is also archived back to 2001. Includes Hansards.

Comprehensive site for Ontario law.

Good resource for researching the Quebecois civil code. Within each of the sections are references and links to important relevant cases.

Contains a number of guides covering Canadian law. While some of it is school-specific, it also covers basics and internet-accessible sources.

The fundamental basis upon which all Canadian law stands.

Canadian case law, with editorial enhancements from Maritime Law Book Co. Treatises from Irwin Law.

Written and updated by Francisco A. Avalos and Elisa Donnadieu. While not enormously comprehensive, it is a serviceable introduction.