Library Guides: Computational and Applied Mathematics: Articles & Journals

Article Databases

The Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all areas of science, engineering and medicine. The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on topics in related to computational and applied mathematics. For a complete list of all databases provided by the Library, visit the Database Finder.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in pure and applied mathematics, mathematical statistics and some computer science. Provides comprehensive coverage from 1940 and includes bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dating back to the early 1800s. Provides links to available full text. Video tutorials are available here: https://www.youtube.com/@mathscinet
MathSciNet (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in pure and applied mathematics, mathematical statistics and some computer science. Provides links to full text when available.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library offers citations and full-text articles from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and newsletter articles, as well as conference proceedings. ACM is a widely recognized premier membership organization for computing professionals. Limit of 3 simultaneous user(s).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

Find Journal Titles

The Library has an extensive collections journals related to computational and applied mathematics, both online and in print. Use the following links to access specific journals or look up journal title abbreviations.

UChicago e-journals list
MathSciNet Journals Database
CIS Master List of Serials
& more less...
Includes all serial indexed in the CIS Extended Database. List is arranged in alphabetical order by title and includes abbreviations.

Searching for Citation Information

The Library provides resources for locating a variety of measures of research impact, including counts of citations to a particular paper, measures of citations to specific authors, and impact factors for journal titles. Tools are often integrated into articles databases.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides citation data on scholarly journals for purposes of evaluation and comparison.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

Calculating an author's h-index

Contact Information

Jennifer Hart
Librarian for Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Ryerson Physical Laboratory 156
773-702-7569
Email Jenny

Journal Article/Table of Content Alerts

Create a profile to receive email alerts when new articles become available.