Library Guides: LLSO 29122: Comparative Law and the Welfare State: Home

Welcome

This guide provides recommended resources for Professor Hammond's Comparative Law and the Welfare State class. Below are resources for finding secondary sources on your topics. The menu options to the left list different types of legal resources suggested for your research.

However, this is not intended to be a comprehensive list. If you have any questions and would like a research consultation, please use the contact information on each page to contact or meet with a librarian.

Explore Your Topic

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find books and other sources on your topic. Handbooks and encyclopedias can provide helpful overviews.
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Find lists of key sources related to your topic.
Regularly updated annotated bibliographies. University of Chicago Library subscribes to many sections of Oxford Bibliographies Online such as African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Environmental Science, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Political Science, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, and Sociology.

Social Security Programs Throughout the World
Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries.

The Routledge International Handbook to Welfare State Systems
This book discusses social policy in 25 countries/regions around the world. Country-specific chapters provide historical overview, discuss major characteristics of the welfare state system, analyze country-specific problems, as well as critical current and future trends. LIMITED TO ONE USER AT A TIME.

Find Articles, Books & More

Subject Specific Databases

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, US and foreign. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Since 1980, provides bibliographic coverage of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes including citations to dissertations and book reviews.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of the social sciences. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Interdisciplinary Databases & Catalogs

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Get Sources from Other Libraries

When you quickly need items that are currently unavailable from the University of Chicago Library or are not owned by the Library search and request materials through...

Borrow Direct This link opens in a new window
Search for and request materials from the libraries of Ivy League universities, Duke, Johns Hopkins, and MIT.
UChicago faculty, students and staff can now borrow books and other circulating materials from the libraries of Ivy League universities and MIT.
UBorrow This link opens in a new window
Search for and request books directly from 15 major research libraries in the Big Ten Academic Alliance
UBorrow enables you to search for and request books directly from 15 major research libraries, with combined collections of more than 90 million volumes.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books, journals, articles, dissertations, and other circulating material from libraries worldwide.

Scan & Deliver at UChicago

The Library offers a free service called Scan & Deliver, which provides scans from books and journals in the general collections of the University of Chicago Library. The service is available to current University of Chicago faculty, students, and staff.

Full details, including directions for submitting requests, are on the Scan & Deliver Guide.

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences

Ask a Law Librarian

D'Angelo Law Librarians

Contact:

1121 E. 60th Street
Chicago, IL 60637

773-702-9631