Library Guides: HIST 24706: Edo/Tokyo: Society and the City in Japan (Spring 2017): Getting started

Bibliographies

Here are some examples of the many hundreds of English-language bibliographies on Japanese topics. To find others, search Japan--bibliography using the BROWSE search with the subject index.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated annotated bibliographies. University of Chicago Library subscribes to many sections of Oxford Bibliographies Online such as African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Environmental Science, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Political Science, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, and Sociology.

Area Bibliography of Japan (1998)
Women in Japanese Society: An Annotated Bibliography of Selected English Language Materials (1992)
Japanese Woodblock Prints: A Bibliography of Writings from 1822-1992, Entirely or Partly in English (1989-1992)
Bibliography for Japanese History up to 1912
Compiled by Professor Peter Kornicki (University of Cambridge) (2024)

Encyclopedias and Histories

A selection of titles in print and online.

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (1983)
Nine-volume encyclopedia in English.
Modern History of Japan from Tokugawa Time to the Present (2003)
A recommended introductory survey.
A History of Japan (2005)
Japan and the Illustrated London News: Complete Record of Reported Events, 1853-1899 (2006)
A guide to events reported in the leading British periodical.

Subject Guide

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Regenstein 413 (not accessible during the renovation-- pls. email for an appointment)

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences