Library Guides: HIPS 25305: Philosophy of Biology: Home

Quick Links

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for information on a (philosophy) topic
Dynamic reference work on Philosophy from Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University.

Good starting points for journal articles on the philosophy of biology:

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.

PhilSci-Archive
Article preprints in the philosophy of science. These are preprints, so may not be peer-reviewed yet.
PhilPapers Online
PhilPapers is a combination index/archive of philosophy papers. Some of the research is published, while other papers are in preprint form. A great place to find new papers and the latest research.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A great database to do citation-related research (i.e., find out who else has cited a particular article).
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Philosophy Document Center E-Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of philosophy journals from the Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC). NOTE: we do NOT have access to all PDC content, so some items may need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
POIESIS offers searchable access to the full text of hundreds of current, recent, and back issues of a growing number of philosophy journals.
Search results are presented on a results map, allowing users to see the article title, the journal name and issue, and all of the "hits" with a limited display of text.

Some good starting points for books on the philosophy of biology:

Oxford Handbooks Online in Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Oxford publishes a series of "handbooks" on various branches of philosophy. There are over 50 handbooks total; I've listed the most relevant Oxford Handbook (philosophy of biology) below:
Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Biology
Cambridge Companion to Philosophy of Biology
A collection of topical essays in philosophy of biology -- a good starting point to get a feel for a topic and jump into further research. (Fun Fact: Michael Ruse edited both this volume AND the (competing) Oxford Handbook in Philosophy of Biology.)
Library Catalog
Use this find books owned by the Library. You can search by a known title, or try Biology--Philosophy for a interesting subject heading search.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences

Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me

Subjects: Chemistry, Environmental Science, Geophysical Sciences, History of Medicine, History of Science, Molecular & Cell Biology, Music, Organismal Biology

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion