This is the "Home" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

An overview of scholarly resources in philosophy
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News about the Philosophy Collection

Featured Acquisitions: Les Œuvres de Simone de Beauvoir in the Past Masters series of electronic texts.

Kant und die Philosophie in weltbürgerlicher Absicht: Akten des XI. Kant-Kongresses 2010. Edited by Alfredo Ferrarin, Margit Ruffing, Stefano Bacin, Claudio La Rocca. Berlin : De Gruyter, 2013.

New Acquisitions Select month, subject and area. Note, this list includes gifts to the Library.
 
Newsletter Archive, quarterly newsletters from the Bibliographer for Religion and Philosophy.

 

Library Workshops

The Library offers many workshops throughout the academic year. In addition, the philosophy specialist offers workshops specifically designed for those studying philosophy. If you are teaching a class, she will work with you to offer a workshop catered to a specific class assignment. Instructors are welcome to link to this philosophy guide on their Chalk sites.

 

Welcome

Pseudo-sappho, fresco from Pompeii, woman holding stylus

Welcome to the University of Chicago Library's research guide for philosophy. In this guide I have gathered together many of the tools needed for research in philosophy. If you have suggestions or comments, please let me know.

If you are new to the study of philosophy and are exploring a particular topic, I recommend starting with some reference sources like encyclopedias and handbooks/companions.

One can learn more about a resource by clicking on the blue information button .

 

About the Collection

The University of Chicago Library is one of the largest and richest research collections (both in print and online formats) in the world. Our print resources are housed in six library sites, all of which are located on the main campus. You may need to visit more than one of these libraries depending on the interdisciplinary nature of your work.

While we strive to build the best collections possible, we cannot purchase every available resource. For example, we focus on materials that will enhance and contribute to the mission of the University and the needs of our faculty and students. I have outlined some of the principles I use in building our philosophy collection in this collection development policy statement. This brief statement is part of a larger Library statement. Acquisition requests are always welcome.

 

Library News: Humanities & Social Sciences

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Anne K. Knafl
Contact Info
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462
773-702-8442
Send Email

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip