Skip to Main Content

How Do I Find Microforms?

Regenstein Microforms Help

Help with Regenstein microforms is available in the Map Collection (Regenstein 370) when the Map Collection is open, generally 1-5 M-F

The Microform Collection and equipment is self-serve and available during building hours.

The Map Collection staff is available to:

  • Show you how to use the microform machines
  • Help you locate a microform item 
  • Troubleshoot equipment 
  • Refer you to a librarian for in-depth reference and item searching

What are Microforms?

Microforms are photographic reproductions, typically of print material, which have been reduced in scale from that which is readable by the unaided eye and transferred to either transparent or opaque materials. Most of the microforms in the University of Chicago Library collection are microfilm and microfiche, which are transparencies.

All microforms require special equipment to view, print, or scan them.

Using the Microform Scanners

Microform scanners are available in Regenstein's 3rd Floor Reading Room, near the Microforms Collection.

The Library provides ScanPro 3000 digital microform scanners, which work with all microformats.

ScanPro 3000 Instructions

  1. Launch the ScanPro software using the Desktop icon.
  2. In the "Film Selection Wizard" screen, select the appropriate format (e.g. 35mm microfilm, negative microfiche, etc.).
  3. Follow the on screen instructions to load the microform (do not attempt to move the auto-carrier manually).
  4. Use the online controls to view, scan, print, etc. (refer to Quick Start Guide for more information).

Video Tutorials

The Brigham Young University Family History Library has created these videos that cover three different ways to use the ScanPro software.

General Microfilm use

Autoscanning.
This allows you to scan an entire reel of microfilm

Microfiche

The software manufacturer has a long video that covers all of the features.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Ask a Librarian
Contact:
773-825-6777
Text messages only at this time
Subjects: Help Guides