Full text searchable database for more than 60 years of past daily issues of this most influential newspaper in the Peoples Republic of China (weekly updates). Full text and full images
Date of Coverage : 1946-
The database is on the same platform of Quan guo bao kan suo yin = National index to Chinese newspapers & periodicals. It currently has four series, containing 400 titles of tabloids from Shanghai Library’s rich newspaper collections of modern China, featuring approximately 400,000 pages in total.
Database of Modern Chinese Newspapers, Series 1-Series 6, includes full text of Chinese language newspapers published during the Republican period (1912-1949). It includes major national newspapers and local newspapers.
The database provides access to both Japanese (1898.5—1944.3) and Chinese editions (1905.7—1911.11) of the newspaper. User may select a language from the drop-off window at top-right corner for database interface (Japanese, Traditional Chinese or English), but search must be constructed either in Japanese or Traditional Chinese. Citations may be saved or emailed. Texts are in scalable PDF format. Note: be aware that downloading could be very slow.
National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals (NICNP) is a super index database covering information for over one and a half centuries from 1833 to the present. It lists about 18,000 kinds of newspapers and periodicals published in China. The database contains over 30 million entries, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.