Biographical Sources - CRWR 28200: Journalism - Arts Reviewing

Biography Databases

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Licensed for one user at a time.
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the nation. The database includes only deceased individuals.
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Biography Index This link opens in a new window
Biography Index covers biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals It indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Dictionary of American Biography
& more less...
a biographical classic, was published in 20 volumes between 1928 and 1934, and 10 supplements have been published between 1944 and 1995, providing scholarly biographies of over 19,000 Americans who died by December 31, 1980. In its electronic form, accessed from workstation in Joseph Regenstein Library first-floor reading room, the text is searchbable by keywords.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of people who played an important role in the formation of what is now Canada. This first phase presents persons who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.
World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive biographical database providing short biographical information on 3.6 million persons with a historical coverage. Digital facsimile articles from more than 2,300 reference works are also included for 1.3 persons.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
Covers "Earliest Times" to 2002. Subjects include Irish people and people who have had influence on Ireland
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who died before December 31, 2005. Provides signed articles, each with a bibliography of resource materials, written by specialists.

Other Biographical Sources

To locate biographical sources in print, use the Advanced Search feature in the Library Catalog, entering "Biography" or "Biographies Dictionaries" or "Biographies Directories" as a subject. It often helps to combine this with an additional search term, such as a country, occupation, etc.

Great Britain biographies dictionaries
India Biography Sources
Physicists biography

Obituaries

Newspapers

Most obituaries appear in newspapers. To locate newspapers, view our guide How do I find newspapers? Many of our newspaper databases include a search limit for obituaries.

Obituary Indexes

Obituary indexes can be helpful in finding obituaries for an individual. Most of these indexes are only in print. Search "obituary indexes' in the Catalog for a listing.

Ask a Librarian

Rebecca Starkey

she / her - FLI Ally

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Teaching and Academic Engagement
Regenstein Library, Room 363

Subject Areas: Education, Library Science

773-702-4484

Subjects: Education, Library Science, Social Sciences