Library Guides: Library Guide for the Chicago Journal of International Law (CJIL): General/International Law

General International Law Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text, page images, and PDF versions of law journal articles from the first issue to the present, plus the Federal Register from 1936 to 1980, U.S. Supreme Court opinions from 1754 to the present, and U.S. treaties from 1776 to the present.
HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database This link opens in a new window
Includes international law yearbooks and periodicals, digests of U.S. practice in international law (Wharton, Moore, Hackworth, Whiteman), Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ) decisions, and Moore's History and Digest of the International Arbitrations to which the United States Has Been a Party.
HeinOnline: Foreign Relations of the United States This link opens in a new window
Official US diplomatic record. 1861-present. Some coverage of more recent declassified docs from foreign affairs agencies.
Recueil des cours (Hague Academy Collected Courses Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes books, book chapters, mini-monographs on public international law topics.
Harvard Research in International Law This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline: History of International Law This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Multilingual and multinational, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal periodicals. Also analyzed are the contents of approximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congressional reports. An invaluable reference tool, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is noted for its broad coverage of legal journals and essays across jurisdictions and language boundaries.
HeinOnline: International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) Library This link opens in a new window

HeinOnline: International Journal of the Jurisprudence of Family Library

International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia sets on 25 subject areas of foreign, comparative, and international law: Civil Procedure, Commercial and Economic Law, Competition Law, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Partnerships, Criminal Law, Cyber Law, Energy Law, Environmental Law, Family and Succession Law, Insurance Law, Intellectual Property, Intergovernmental Organisations (international organizations), Labour Law and Industrial Relations, Media Law, Medical Law, Migration Law, Private International Law, Property and Trust Law, Religion, Social Security Law, Sports Law, Tort Law, Transport Law).
HeinOnline: International Law Association (ILA) Reports This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. treaties; International Legal Materials (ILM); EU law treatises, ECJ cases, EU treaties, regulations, directives; ICJ decisions; ECHR judgments and decisions; international arbitration and internaitonal trade materials; Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digests, including Hague Conventions; non-English news.
LexisNexis access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the Law School.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law Online This link opens in a new window
Includes two modules, online versions of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL/EPIL) and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro), on the Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) platform.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Law This link opens in a new window
Research resource comprising encyclopedia-type articles and annotated bibliographies on international law topics compiled by experts in the field. The bibliographies are "recommendations on the best works...whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set."
Oxford Handbooks Online in Law This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in law. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of market-leading reference works and treatises published by the Oxford University Press, including Oppenheim and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.
Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law This link opens in a new window
UN Audiovisual Library of International Law (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Includes full runs of the UN Yearbook, Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.), historic archives, video lecture series, and bibliographies.
Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. treaties, International Legal Materials (ILM), international commercial arbitration databases, investor-state materials, ICJ, ICTR, ICTY, Iran-U.S. Claims Tribunal, WTO, GATT decisions; European Union legislation, treaties, cases, journals (European Competition Law Review, Common Market Law Reports); International Organization (INOG), Foreign Affairs (FORGNAFF), Foreign Policy (FORGNPLY), Global Governance (GLBLGOVERN). Westlaw also has the Legal Journals Index (LJI), WORLD-JLR, and International Law Texts & Periodicals (INT-TP). All Content ---> International Materials (Australia, Canada, UK, EU, and including law journals).

WorldLII - World Legal Information Institute

Subject Specialist

Lyonette Louis-Jacques

Send Email

Contact:

Foreign and International Law
Librarian and Lecturer in Law
D'Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago Law School

773-702-9612

Subjects: Foreign Law, International Law, Law