The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (19th ed. 2010)(lists sources of law and abbreviations for 43 foreign jurisdictions, the UN, EU, ECHR; arbitral reports such as the R.I.A.A.; and treaty sources). D'Angelo Law Reserve Room, XXKF245.B59.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations (2d ed., New York UniversitySchool of Law, Journal of International Law and Politics, Aspen Publishers/Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, 2009). D'Angelo Law, Reference, XXK89.G85 2009.
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law. Since it's aimed at the non-specialist, it provides straight-forward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions. There are extensive links to the rich world of Web resources, but it also describes print research tools that remain important in this field. Finally, it sets out a road map for approaching a research problem involving international, foreign and comparative law. Additional teaching materials are available for this title, and include online links to research sources noted in the book: Appendix A: Comprehensive List of Sources Appendix B: Websites Containing National Law Appendix C: Web Treaty Collections Appendix D: Planning Your Research and Organizational Tools
International Legal Research in a Global Community by Heidi Frostestad Kuehl; Megan A. O'Brien
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
International Law Legal Research by Anthony S. Winer; Mary Ann E. Archer; Lyonette Louis-Jacques
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
This concise yet comprehensive book is designed to be accessible for the beginner as well as useful for those with more experience. For students, the book can serve as enrichment for a doctrinal course in international law or as the basis for a stand-alone course in international law research. To allow for self-evaluation, the book includes frequent review questions to help assure retention. For practitioners new to the international area, each type of search tool and search strategy is covered in detail with explanations to provide background comprehension.
This book is part of the International Legal Research Series, edited by Mark E. Wojcik, The John Marshall Law School.
International and Foreign Legal Research: A Coursebook, second edition by Hoffman and Rumsey, now in a second edition, is designed for classes in foreign and international legal research. Topics covered in the book range from treaty research to chapters on particular subjects of international law. Coverage also includes chapters on researching foreign and comparative law as well as major international organizations, including the UN and the EU.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - International Law is a research resource comprising encyclopedia-type articles and annotated bibliographies on international law topics compiled by experts in the field. The bibliographies are "recommendations on the best works...whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set."
Guide to Electronic Resources on International Law (ERG from ASIL; includes narrative research guides for major public and private international law topics such as international human rights, international humanitarian law, international commercial arbitration, international criminal law, international economic law (WTO), European Union, international environmental law, international intellectual property law, international organizations, private international law, treaties, and the United Nations; the "Introduction to the Guide" includes a guide to researching international law using the Internet)