Library Guides: Library Services for Law Faculty: Electronic Resources

Finding Law Journal Articles

If you know the name of a specific journal and want to find the full text of articles, search the E-journals list or the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. Below are the core sources for full text of law journal articles.

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
The HeinOnline Law Journal Library provides full-text access to law reviews and journals. Coverage begins with a journal's first volume but does not usually include its most recent issues.
Westlaw Journals & Law Reviews This link opens in a new window
Journals and Law Reviews contains documents from law reviews and CLE materials from U.S. and Canadian based publications. Coverage varies by publication.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
Covers July 1981 to present. Index to Legal Periodicals & Books has been relied on for over 50 years for complete coverage of the most important English language legal information. Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Covers 1908-June 1981. Provides access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Multilingual and multinational, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal periodicals. Also analyzed are the contents of approximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congressional reports. An invaluable reference tool, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is noted for its broad coverage of legal journals and essays across jurisdictions and language boundaries.

Finding Non-Law Journals

For interdisciplinary work, start with Articles Plus. It contains articles from over 40,000 journals. If you are looking for articles from a specific journal, use the E-journals list, the Library Catalog, or Find-It! buttons to find full-text in a Library database.

Use Database Finder to locate Library databases in a particular subject. You can search by database title or browse by subject.

To configure Google Scholar to search for resources available through the University of Chicago Library, please see this guide.

Lexis, Westlaw, & Bloomberg Law

For issues related to Lexis+, Westlaw, or Bloomberg Law credentials or access, contact Scott Vanderlin.

D'Angelo Law Library webpage

The D'Angelo Law Library webpage has links to our outstanding collection of legal research resources, as well as non-legal resources available through the University of Chicago Library.

For links to frequently used legal resources, see Law Database Quicklinks on the right side of the D'Angelo webpage.

Off-campus access to Library resources

To reach Library licensed resources from off-campus, you will use the campus web proxy. When you click on a licensed resource, you will be prompted for your CNet ID and password. If you are not prompted for authentication, use the ProxyIt! bookmarklet to activate the proxy server. If you continue to experience problems, contact Connie Fleischer.