EndNote and Zotero
EndNote and Zotero are research management tools that helps you collect, organize, and share citations from library databases and catalogs. The Library provides training resources and services to help you use these tools effectively and efficiently.
Humorous Science Writing Tips and Tricks
There is a lot of guidance on scientific writing and presentation available. Some of them take a humorous approach in presenting dos and don'ts of good scientific communication.
Finding and using DOIs
Looking for the DOI's (Digital Object Identifiers) for your citations?
Try the CrossRef Simple Text Query tool
Because the DOI insures findability for the e-journal article, citation styles (APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, Turabian, etc.) are starting to request the use of a DOI in a citation for e-journal content.
Online Guides to Scientific Writing and Presentations
For specific guidelines for journal articles, you can also consult the journal's website for guidelines for authors (also called submission guidelines or instructions to authors).
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new windowThe web version of the venerable comprehensive handbook of style, this site provides general guidance, as well as specific examples of correct style and citation
- Science Writing AidsIncludes links to sites for software and other tools, nomenclature guides and science writing manuals and style guides
- Resources for Creating Poster PresentationsCreated by Fred Stoss, University of Buffalo Library, this guide includes tips and tricks, a bibliography, and lots of links to helpful sites
- Guide to Library Research (Duke U)Guide to correct citing of sources
- Promoting Integrity in Science Journals PublicationsCouncil of Science Editors' white paper on the roles and responsibilities of editors, authors, peer reviewers, and the publishers in science journal publication
Books on Scientific Writing
- A guide to writing as an engineer (2nd ed.) byCall Number: T11 .B396 2005
- Writing and speaking in the technology professions : a practical guide (2nd ed.). byCall Number: T11 .W75 2003
- Scientific papers and presentations (Revised ed.). byCall Number: T11.D324 2005
- How to write and publish a scientific paper byCall Number: T11.D33 2006
- The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information, 3rd ed.Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006Available online.
- Science research writing for non-native speakers of English. byAvailable online
- The art of scientific writing : from student reports to professional byCall Number: QD9.15.E23 2004(2004). . Weinheim: Wiley-VCH. Crerar Library
- How to write & illustrate a scientific paper. byCall Number: T11 .G86 2003
- Peer review and manuscript management in scientific journals: guidelines for good practice. byCall Number: Q225.5.H255 2007
- Ideas into words : mastering the craft of science writing. byCall Number: T11 .H255 2003
- Developing quality technical information : a handbook for writers and editors byCall Number: T11.D417 2004
- Style and ethics of communication in science and engineering byCall Number: T11 .H857 2009Available online
- Making sense: a student's guide to research and writing: enginering and the technical sciences. byCall Number: T11.N67 2007
- Writing the laboratory notebook. byCall Number: Q180.58.K360 1985
- Writing in the sciences : exploring conventions of scientific discourse byCall Number: T11 .P393 2004
- Spring into technical writing : for engineers and scientists byCall Number: T11 .R663 2005
- Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers byCall Number: T11.S386 2006Available online
- Communicating science effectively: a practical handbook for integrating visual elements byCall Number: Q18Q223.C66 2006
- Handbook of public communication of science and technology. byCall Number: Q223.H3444 2008
Contact Information
Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and Geophysical Sciences Librarian
Send Email