University of Chicago Medicine
- Medicine on the Midway. ChicagoCall Number: R747.C608M48University of Chicago, Office of Public Affairs.
Notes: "Bulletin of the Medical Alumni Association, University of Chicago." Print available from: v. 1- Dec. 1944-
Recent years also available online - Reminiscences of the Bobs Roberts Memorial Hospital : the growth and development of a Department of Pediatrics byCall Number: RA982.C52U559 1990[Chicago] : University of Chicago, 1990.
Special Collections, Archival Reference
Biographical information on Chicago physicians
- A group of distinguished physicians and surgeons of Chicago : a collection of biographical sketches of many of the eminent representatives, past and present, of the medical profession of Chicago byCall Number: R210.C4S7Chicago : J.H. Beers, 1904.
- Early medical Chicago; an historical sketch of the first practitioners of medicine, with the present faculties, and graduates since the organization of the medical colleges of Chicago byCall Number: R210.C4H9Chicago, Fergus printing company, 1879.
Series: Fergus' historical series. no. 11
Special Collections, Rare Books F536.F352 v.2 - The Medical and surgical directory of Cook County, Illinois, 1888-89.Call Number: 610.9773 61 Crerar, Dewey CollectionChicago : Physician's Collection Association, [1888?]
- Dr. Bernard Fantus : father of the blood bank ; and, Researching Chicago medical history byCall Number: R154.F27D7 2004University of Chicago. Library. Dept. of Special Collections. Exhibition catalogs ; v. 102.
General resources
- The Institute of Medicine of Chicago : history, activities, and organization.Call Number: R15.I4930 c.1Institute of Medicine of Chicago. Chicago, 1955.
- History of medicine and surgery, and physicians and surgeons of ChicagoCall Number: R210.C4H6Chicago Medical Society. Chicago, Biographical Pub. Corp., c1922.
Available online in HathiTrust - Medicine in Chicago, 1850-1950 : a chapter in the social and scientific development of a city byCall Number: R210.C4B60 1991Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c1991. 2nd ed.
- History of medical practice in Illinois.Call Number: R209.I3Illinois State Medical Society. Chicago, Book Press, 1927-
Notes: Issued by the Illinois State Medical Society in commemoration of its diamond jubilee. - The Medical Examiner (later as Chicago Medical Journal and Examiner and Chicago Medical Journal)Later titles also available online in HathiTrust
http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000552824
http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000552823 - Northwestern Medical and Surgical Journal (previously Illinois and Indiana medical and surgical journal)Previous title also online in HathiTrust
http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000552820
Development of Medical Education in Chicago
- Reforming medical education : the University of Illinois College of Medicine, 1880-1920 byCall Number: R747.U683373 S65 2009Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c2009.
- Frank Billings : the architect of medical education, an apostle of excellence in clinical practice, a leader in Chicago medicine byCall Number: R154.B53H67[Chicago? : s.n.], c1966 (Chicago : Printing Dept. of the University of Chicago)
- Medical and dental colleges of the West : historical and biographical : Chicago byCall Number: R746.I4M44 1896Chicago : Oxford Pub., 1896.
Articles on history of medicine in Chicago
PubMed search on the history of medicine in Chicago
Also consider searching historical newspapers for more articles related to medical history in Chicago. Chicago Defender and Chicago Tribune can be searched, as well as collections of 18th and 19th century newspapers.
Societies and Organizations
Records, 1895-1929. / Chicago Pediatric Society. Description: 1 v. (500 p.) ; 36 cm.
Notes: Typed copies of reports, minutes, and official correspondence of the Chicago Pediatric Society. Includes Constitution (1923), membership list (undated), minutes (1897-1928), and treasurer's accounts (1899-1910).
Special Collections, Crerar Manuscripts CrMs47 Box 1
Institute of Medicine of Chicago
Hektoen Institute of Medicine / Chicago Society for the History of Medicine and the Humanities
Subject Specialist
Andrea Twiss-Brooks
she/her
Contact:
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me