Library Guides: HIST 29636: Japan and the US: 19th Century Encounters: Government Documents

Diplomatic Materials

Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A great source for diplomatic materials, including:
Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Japan, 1855-1906
Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in Japan, 1855-1912
British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905
Notes from the Japanese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1858-1906
We have access to the following modules: Asia and the West, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature, Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture, European Literature, the Corvey Collection, 1790-1840, Maps and Travel Literature. Photography, Religion, Reform and Society, Women and Transnational Networks.

Microfilm Guides

Guide to Microform Sources for History in the University of Chicago Library
Last updated in 2004.

This guide to microform, although not updated, provides an excellent overview of our microfilm collections--including collections relating to Japan and the U.S.

Congressional Documents

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of committee hearings since 1817, Congressional committee reports since 1990, House and Senate Documents since 1995, selected committee prints since 1995, bills since 1789, and the Congressional Record since 1985.

HeinOnline Congressional Documents
Contains the American State Papers, The Congressional Record and its predecessors (Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe), Journals of the Continental Congress, etc.
American State Papers
(1789-1838)
& more less...
documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses

Presidential Documents

HeinOnline: United States Presidential Library This link opens in a new window
This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents (Hoover-Present), CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, Economic Report of the President, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents.

Presidential Documents Archive
From the American Presidency Project at UC Santa Barbara, online collections of presidential documents.
United States Statutes at Large
Includes proclamations, but not executive orders. 1789-2009

Treaties

United States Statutes at Large
US treaties and agreements from 1776-1950. Vol. 8 contains all treaties from 1776-1845,
thereafter in annual sessional volumes. Volumes 47-64 included Executive Agreements. An Index to all treaties and agreements in volumes 1-64 is included in Vol. 64, part 3, arranged by country and then topic.
Indian treaties included through volume 16. After 1950, UST is the official source for U.S. treaties and agreements.
see Congress (Laws) tab for more access options
Bevans, Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949
This collection by Bevans supersedes the two collections by Miller and Malloy.
Find a copy in the Library
United States treaties and other international agreements cumulative index, 1776-1949 : cumulative index to United States treaties and other international agreements, 1776-1949 as published in Statutes at large, Malloy, Miller, Bevans and other relevant s
Access to online and print
Unperfected treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1976 / edited and annotated by Christian L. Wiktor
Treaties which never went into force.

Subject Guide

Rebecca Starkey

she / her

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Teaching and Academic Engagement

Subject Areas: Education, Library Science

Regenstein Library, Room 367

773-702-4484

Subjects: Education, Library Science, Social Sciences

HIST 29636: Japan and the US: 19th Century Encounters