This is the "Home" page of the "How Do I Find Microforms?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How Do I Find Microforms?   Tags: microcards, microfiche, microfilm, microprint  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/microforms Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purchase Request

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs.

Use this form to submit a request.
It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.

 

What are Microforms?

Microforms are images which have been reduced in scale from that which is readable by the unaided eye and transferred to either transparent or opaque materials. Most of the microforms in the University of Chicago Library collection are microfilm and microfiche, which are transparencies.

All microforms require special equipment to view, print, or scan them.

Transparent Microforms


Microfilm
is produced in long strips, like motion picture film, and comes in 16 and 35-millimeter sizes. The microfilm strips are loaded on to reels, similar to motion picture film reels, although much smaller.

Microfiche are transparencies that come in either 3" x 5" or 4" x 6" sheets.

The Joseph Regenstein Library microforms collection contains several large microfiche collections with magnification ratios larger than 60. These, which are called ultrafiche, must be viewed on a special microfiche reader in the Regenstein Microforms Reading Room designed for reading ultrafiche.

Opaque Microforms


Opaque
microforms include microcards, which are 3" x 5" and microprint, which are 6" x 9". Opaques (microcards and microprint) can have images on both sides while microfilm and microfiche, as transparencies, can have images on only one side.

 

Searching for Microforms

Cataloged Microforms

Most of the Library's microform materials can be found by searching the Library Catalog. The call number is proceeded by one of the following prefixes:

  • microfm (microfilm)
  • microfc (microfiche)
  • microcd (microcard)
  • micropt (microprint)

The location will indicate which campus library houses the micoform in question. For a list of microform collection locations, see Microform Collections in this guide.

Uncatalogued Microforms - Middle East Microforms

The Library's Middle Eastern Collection has an extensive collection of journals, monographs, government publications, and other published research materials on microfilm. Many of these items are catalogued and are indicated in the online catalog by the location "Regenstein, 5th Floor Middle East Microforms." Most of these catalogued items as well as others which are uncatalogued are listed in the MEDOC Catalogue of Microform Projects.

The Middle Eastern Collection also holds microfilm copies of approximately 2000 manuscripts from libraries and universities around the world, most of which are uncatalogued. These are listed in Middle East Manuscripts in Microformat.

Materials in the Middle East Microforms Collection may be used only within the building. Please consult a staff member in the Middle East Department office (JRL 560) between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday for access and further information, or contact Marlis Saleh in advance.

Microform Manager

Profile Image
Raymond Gadke
Contact Info
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 309
773-702-8771
Send Email
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip