Current News & Newspapers
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFor Latin American newspapers, choose source & limit by region
- Reforma Newspaper This link opens in a new windowRequires first time users to register by clicking here.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
- Latin American Newsletters This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Latin American Weekly Reports, the Latin American Economy & Business report, the Latin America Security & Strategic Review, Latin American Special Reports, Latinnews Daily, and Latin American Monitoring Centre. This last provides updated country political and economic profiles, Election Watch, and Reference Library, consisting of selected articles on each country. Please logout after searching as our subscription permits only one user at a time.
20th-century
- Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper ArchiveDigital page images of runs of about three dozen 19th or early 20th century Latin American newspapers.
- Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers, 1900-1929A microform collection including nearly a quarter of a million pages from 560 Mexican newspapers, of which about half were published in the Distrito Federal, and half from Mexican cities in 28 states. The 345 reels of film are located in the general microform section of the Regenstein Library. The Guide gives a full introduction to the collection, and lists the titles alphabetically and by state and city.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American NewspapersDigitized publications dating from the mid 1800s through the 1970s, from the University of Arizona Libraries.
19th-century
- Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper ArchiveDigital page images of runs of about three dozen 19th or early 20th century Latin American newspapers.
- Sistema Nacional de Bibliotecas Costa Rica (SINABI) - PeriódicosA collection of 500+ nineteenth-century Costa Rican newspapers, digitized and searchable full text.
- Gaceta de Puerto-Rico 1806-1902Official newspaper of Puerto Rico throughout the 19th Century, digitized and accessible through the Library of Congress.
18th-century
- Caribbean Newspapers: Series 1, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
18th- to 20-centuries
- Hemeroteca DigitalSpanish newspapers online from the National Library of Spain. Includes fully-searchable digital images of some 143 newspaper titles, and over 500,000 digitized pages, a wide variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, technical, literary, sports, religious, etc., ranging from 1772 to 1933. Also includes this link to other Spanish digitized newspaper collections.
- BNDigitalHemeroteca digital (Brasil)
- Latin American and Caribbean Newspapers Held by the Center for Research LibrariesFrom the CRL catalog you may search for specific newspapers or for all newspapers held by the Center published in specific countries.
- ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects This link opens in a new windowClassified guide to newspaper digitization projects.
- Acervo FolhaOnline archive of A Folha de São Paulo.
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México (HNDM)Digitized newspaper holdings of Mexico's Hemeroteca Nacional.
Subject Specialist
David Woken
he/him/his/él/ele
Contact:
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 565
1100 E. 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
1100 E. 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
(773) 834-3181
Skype Contact: woken@uchicago.edu