European Union

Contains in PDF: European Court Reports. Reports of European Community Staff Cases: ECR-SC; Reports of Cases before the Court (ECR); Reports of Cases before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance; Reports of Cases before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance. Section II, Court of First Instance.

The database is updated daily.
OFFICIAL JOURNAL
Treaties
International agreements
Legislation in force
Preparatory acts
Case-law
Parliamentary questions
Budget of the European Union
ECICS
The institutions' registers
TARIC
EU legislation on statistics
Summaries of EU Legislation
Process and players
Legislative drafting

Emphasis will be placed on the following aspects of the resources for research:
* an overview of its official web site, Europa (http://europa.eu/);
* other electronic resources such as unofficial databases and relevant academic and intergovernmental or NGO web sites;
* its external relations;
* sources pertaining to recent and continuing debates on enlargement and about changes of a “constitutional” nature;
* sources of updated information by way of blogs, news feeds, and press releases.

Mr. Alford’s guide is intended to aid infrequent users of EU materials in locating sources of its law and official documents. This article was first published in the Winter 2005 issue of the Law Library Journal [97 Law Library Journal 49 (Winter 2005)].

In legal research, particularly in international and comparative law, it is often necessary to trace working documents, or “travaux préparatoires,” in order to get a clear view of how negotiations have affected the original draft of a document.

The RAPID database contains all the Press Releases of the Commission since 1985, the great majority of them in at least two languages. It also contains Press Releases of some of the other European institutions, particularly the Council of the Union.

This eJournal distributes working and accepted paper abstracts related to European Union law. Coverage includes the constitutional law of the European Union, EU competition law and other forms of economic regulation, EU administrative law, and economic, political, sociological and philosophical analysis of the European Union.

EurActiv has an original business model, based on five elements (corporate sponsoring, EurActor membership, advertising, EU projects, and content syndication). It is well funded and the content usage is free.

The EurActiv web portal is firmly established as the favourite online platform for Brussels and national professionals in EU policies. It brings together journalistic independence with transparency and practical efficiency, complementing the existing EU media and institutional websites.

The database is updated daily.
OFFICIAL JOURNAL
Treaties
International agreements
Legislation in force
Preparatory acts
Case-law
Parliamentary questions
Budget of the European Union
ECICS
The institutions' registers
TARIC
EU legislation on statistics
Summaries of EU Legislation
Process and players
Legislative drafting

stage of the procedure;
decisions of the institutions;
persons' names;
services responsible;
references of documents …etc,

Monitors the works of the various institutions involved (European Parliament, Council, ESC, Committee of the Regions, European central Bank, Court of Justice, etc.).

PreLex follows all Commission proposals (legislative and budgetary dossiers, conclusions of international agreements) and communications from their transmission to the Council or the European Parliament

Links allow users to access directly the electronic texts available (COM documents, Official Journal, Bulletin of the European Union, documents of the European Parliament, press releases, etc.).

The website is a specialised information source together with EUR-Lex, PreLex and Europe Direct. Whereas EUR-Lex provides the full texts of all EU law documents, PreLex follows all legislative proposals during the decision-making process of the EU institutions and Europe Direct responds to citizens’ enquiries regarding the EU. This website complements the above by offering user-friendly summaries of sometimes rather long and technical EU legislation.

Click on the European Union tab, or
Directory Location: All Databases > International/Worldwide Materials > European Union

Includes EU treaties, regulations, directives, preparatory acts, parliamentary questions, cases, the Common Market Law Reports (C.M.L.R.)(1962- ), the Legal Journals Index (LJI), and the following: Bulletin of the European Union (EUBULLETIN); EU Focus (EUF); European Competition Law Review (ECLR); European Intellectual Property Review (EIPR); European Law Review (EURLR).

Also, the EU-CS database includes:
“Full-text decisions of the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the Court of First Instance of the European Communities, as well as the text of advocate-general opinions, court orders, and judgments, as reported by the Office for Official Publications for the European Communities and included in European Court Reports. Also includes judgments and orders of the Court of Justice covered by the Official Journal of the European Community, C Series. Coverage begins with 1954 for the Court of Justice of the European Communities; 1989 for the Court of First Instance of the European Communities; and 1985 for the C Series of the Official Journal.”

* Agriculture
* Antitrust (Competition)
* Counterterrorism/Justice, Freedom and Security
* Economics and Finance
* Education
* Energy
* Environment
* Foreign Policy
* Food Safety/Health/Consumer Affairs
* Human Rights
* International Aid
* Science and Technology/Research
* Trade
* Transportation