Library Guides: European Union: EU Home

EU Home
Law

Starting Points & Finding Aids

Europa: Gateway to the European Union
This alphabetical index can help you find specific information on EUROPA pages and on other websites of the European Union's institutions and bodies.
EUROPA - Official documents from EU institutions, agencies, and other bodies
Links to official papers from EU institutions and bodies - from decisions by the European Ombudsman to speeches by the President of the European Parliament.
ECLAS
European Commission Library Automated System. Lists the complete holdings of the Central Library since 1978.
& more less...
ECLAS focuses on publications of the European Union and has also an extensive collection of publications of international organisations such as the UN, OECD, World Bank, etc.
The catalogue contains a wealth of books and journals from commercial publishers in all EU languages. However, the largest part of our collections is in French, English and German.
One of the strengths of the ECLAS catalogue is the collection of articles on EU-related matters, selected by our staff from the most relevant journals.
Many of the journals and articles listed in ECLAS are available online in electronic format. To this purpose, the bibliographic records for these items contain hyperlinks that provide access to the full electronic documents.
Rapid
EU official news agency. Great place to find particulars about a document or action.
& more less...
The RAPID database contains all the Press Releases of the Commission since 1985, the great majority of them in at least two languages. It also contains Press Releases of some of the other European institutions, particularly the Council of the Union.
Council of Europe
Human Rights, Democracy, Rule of Law
Northwestern University Library: Links to IGOs
Includes links to many European Union sites.
EU ABC
Dictionary of Eurojargon and acronyms.
Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l’Europe
& more less...
On the European integration process. The key post-war historical events and the European organisations are presented chronologically and thematically, and are illustrated by a wide range of archive documents, as well as interviews conducted by the CVCE with people who have been actively involved in European integration.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Europeana: think culture
Enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana. These objects include:
* Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
* Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
* Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
* Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Helpful non-EU databases

EurActiv
EurActiv.com is the independent media portal fully dedicated to EU affairs.
& more less...
EurActiv has an original business model, based on five elements (corporate sponsoring, EurActor membership, advertising, EU projects, and content syndication). It is well funded and the content usage is free.

The EurActiv web portal is firmly established as the favourite online platform for Brussels and national professionals in EU policies. It brings together journalistic independence with transparency and practical efficiency, complementing the existing EU media and institutional websites.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Eur-Lex databases and cases
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.

EUScreen
& more less...
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
Global foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials.
Global foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials in 13 languages for 134 countries. It is strongest for the law of the following countries: Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela, Portugal, Italy, the UK, Belgium, France, and the U.S.

Statistics

Eurostat This link opens in a new window
From the statistical office of the European Union.

Eurostat Regional Yearbook
& more less...
Gives a detailed picture of a large number of statistical fields in the 27 Member States of the European Union, as well as in EFTA and candidate countries. The text of each chapter has been written by specialists in statistics and is accompanied by maps, figures and tables. A broad set of regional indicators are presented for the following 16 subjects: population, labour market, labour cost, education, health, European cities, gross domestic product, household accounts, structural business statistics, information society, tourism, land cover and land use, coastal regions, transport, science, technology and innovation, and last but not least, a study on trends in densely and thinly populated areas.
EU Statistics and Opinion Polls
& more less...
Statistics cover topics ranging from regional growth to external trade. Opinion polls indicate how satisfied people are with different aspects of the EU and what could be improved.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new window
The St. Louis Fed's economic database. Has Eurostat's harmonized indices of consumer prices. The Eurostat
data offers users the ability to compare inflation rates for different European countries.
Produced by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It includes U.S. data on interest rates, exchange rates, CPI, GDP, PPI, etc.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics; updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years. You may download in pdf and excel formats.
International Historical Statistics; updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years. You may download in pdf and excel formats.

Working Papers & Archives

Archives of European Integration
An electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification.
& more less...
AEI collects two types of materials: certain types of independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents.

European Integration Online Papers (EIoP) This link opens in a new window
The EIoP publishes scientific analyses of political, legal, economic, historical and sociological questions in relation to European integration considering the whole range of methodological and philosophy of science standpoints.

European Research Papers Archive (ERPA)
An access point for the online working paper series of participating institutions in order to help researchers in the field of European Integration studies.
European Union Documentation Center (EUDC)
Archives and Manuscript Collections at the University of Pittsburgh
Finding Aid
& more less...
Collection Dates: 1951-2004
This collection is essentially a "government documents" collection for both the organization currently known as the European Union and for its precursors: European Coal and Steel Community; European Atomic Energy Community; European Economic Community; European Communities. This is an extensive collection of publications and documentation which these organizations intended to make publicly available. The collection does not include any personal papers of individuals.
Jean Monnet Program
The Jean Monnet Project aims to promote teaching in European integration, in particular in Law, Economics, Political Science and History
& more less...
Pages include the Jean Monnet Working Papers with the European Research Papers Archive (ERPA - a common access point for high quality papers in the area of European integration research), teaching materials in European Law and Institutions, the Law of Regional Economic Integration in the American Hemisphere and the Law of World Trade, the World Wide European Integration Events Calendar and the European Integration Current Contents (Table of Contents Awareness Service) pages. The European Journal of International Law and the European Foreign Policy Bulletin online are also part of the Academy of European Law online.

Need help?

Contact Regenstein Reference

Contact a Law Librarian

Subject Specialist

Lyonette Louis-Jacques

Contact Info:
Foreign and International Law
Librarian and Lecturer in Law
D'Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago Law School
Room 207
773-702-9612
Send Email