Case Law
State environmental cases are published in official state reporters and the West national reporter system. They are available online from a number of sources, including state court websites:
- Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new windowWestlaw access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the Law School.
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis for Law Schools access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the Law School.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFor University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
The Environmental Law Reporter publishes unreported cases in addition to those published in state reporters and the West national reporter system.
Statutory Law
The Library has current annotated codes for all fifty states in the Fourth Floor Bookstacks, North Range.
State statutes are also available online in the following online sources:
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis/Lexis Advance provides full text of all current state codes. Available for Law School users only.
- Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new windowWestlaw/WestlawNext provides the full text of all current state codes. Available for Law School users only.
- Bloomberg LawBloomberg Law provides full text of current state statutes with research references. Available for Law School users only.
- Legal Information InstituteFrom Cornell Law School, the LII provides links to state codes, bills, and regulations, and laws by topic
Other State Administrative Codes
Many states publish their administrative codes online. For official names (e.g., Utah Administrative Code, Code of Vermont Rules), see Table T.1 of the Bluebook. Other online sources include:
Compilations and 50 State Surveys
Session Laws
HeinOnline includes PDF files of session laws for all fifty states from statehood, with some territorial and colonial coverage as well.
The Law Library has print versions of the annual session laws for all fifty states from statehood until about 1980, and for all years for Illinois, California, and New York. They are shelved in the North Annex and can be paged using this form. Session laws from about 1981 until 1994 are available on microfiche, at Regenstein Library.