Many important collections of primary sources, and many individual film journals, are available on microfilm in Regenstein Library.
- Cinema Pressbooks from the original studio collections: Features pressbooks, publicity kits sent to distributors with film prints, from the collections of United Artists (1919-1949), Warner Brothers (1922-1949), and Monogram Pictures (1937-1946).
A guide describing the contents of each reel is avialable in print (PN1993.5.U6C564 bookstacks) and online.
- Early Filmmakers' Catalogues, 1896-1913: Includes catalogues from early producers and directors in Great Britain, such as Charles Urban, Warwick Trading Co., Cecil Hepworth, Royal Bioscope, Pathe, and more.
- Early Russian Cinema, 1907-1918, The Russsian Cinematographic Press. Thirteen titles include bimonthly periodicals and popular weeklies published by major Russian film studios between 1907 and 191 8. Each title has its own call number in the library catalog; a list can be generated by clicking the title link above.
- J. Edgar Hoover and Radicalism in Hollywood. Part 1, Communist Infiltration of the Motion Picture Industry.
- 'Little Magazines' Series (I & II): Selected Short-Run Cinema Periodicals, 1889-1972: These titles, collected by the British Film Institute, include: Cinema (Cambridge); Cinema Quarterly; Cinematography and Bioscope Magazine; Edison Kinetogram; Film (later called Film Art); Kinema; Optical Magic Lantern Journal; and World Film News.
- History of Cinema: Selected files from the Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administration Collection. Series 1, Hollywood and the Production Code. There is an online guide to the entire collection. The microfilm includes the contents of five hundred files, each one relating to a particular film that was submitted to the Production Code staff for consideration. The files are arranged in chronological order by the year of the film’s release.
- History of the Cinema, 1895-1940: A wide-ranging selection of significant movie books and pamphlets published before 1940. Nearly 1,000 titles range in subject from contemporary studies in the sociology of the cinema to Hollywood novels, biographies of stars and how-to books on screenwriting.
- Major Film Periodicals for Media Research, Series I & II: Series I features Film Daily, an important motion picture (and later film and television) industry daily newspaper and its predecessors, from 1915 to 1970. Series II offers the Film Daily Yearbook, a reference annual and companion to Film Daily, and its predecessors, from 1918 to 1969.
- Motion Picture Catalogs by American Producers and Distributors, 1894-1908: Catalogs from film producers, sales agents, manufacturers and distributors. Range is from 1894 with the advent of commercial moving pictures to 1908 when the catalogs were largely replaced by industry trade journals. Some are fragmentary or incomplete, and most are unique.
- The Wisconsin/Warner Brothers Screenplay series: Final shooting scripts, arranged by genre, of Warner Brothers productions from 1930-1950; collected by the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research. Guide provides details of each film, including director, principal cast and source.