Arranged chronologically, oldest to most recent, this list includes both printed and online sources of reviews. For a more comprehensive listing of digital newspaper archives, consult our guide to newspapers.
1882-1985. A two-volume set that lists films alphabetically by title, and indexes reviews in as many review sources as available, exluding non-English language sources and difficult-to-locate sources. An excellent place to start.
1900 to present Search tip: select the "Advanced Search" option. Note the "Limit your results" box towards the bottom of the page: limit to "Document Type" entertainment review.
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.
Begun in 1905 as a weekly show business trade paper covering vaudeville, stage, and film, Variety it went on to feature news about television, aspects of new media, and music. Daily Variety began publication in 1933 and focused on motion pictures. It ceased as a separate publication in 2013.
This database is a digitization of the entire run of Liberty Magazine, nearly 1,400 issues, and contains over 17,000 fiction and non-fiction articles and thousands of advertisements all in a searchable, full-color format. Database allows browsability by date, contributor, and artist and allows full-text search of the entire publication (including advertising, maps, and cartoons). Dates include 1924-1950
Full-text of most major US newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Includes online content (blogs, online-only articles) normally available on newspaper websites. Select "Sources" to locate specific titles or newspapers by geography. Current and recent issues.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present, Chicago Defender, 1989-present.
Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present