Library Guides: Stock Prices: Home

Subscription Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Thirty years of daily, weekly and monthly prices. Includes open, high, low, close and volume. Prices can be displayed as adjusted or unadjusted for splits and dividends. The charts option allows comparison of up to four stocks and one index. Select "Equity Pricing" for prices and "Capital Stock" for splits and dividends.
U.S. and international companies.
Financial data, equity pricing, debt data and annual reports for publicly traded companies worldwide. Up to 15 years or quarters are available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Select "Companies/Markets", then Quotes.
Factiva has daily prices for five years, weekly and monthly prices for ten years, and yearly prices for twenty years. Includes open, high, low, close and volume. Adjusted prices only. The charting feature allows comparison of multiple stocks as well as one or more indices.
U.S. and international companies.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Stock, mutual fund and ETF screening tool that also includes reports from Morningstar analysts, company financials and insider and institutional holders data.
Stock, mutual fund and ETF screening tool that also includes reports from Morningstar analysts, company financials and insider and institutional holders data.
Accessible for five users simultaneously.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Source for CRSP data
CRSP is the most comprehensive source for stocks traded on the New York, American and NASDAQ exchanges. Daily prices are available from 1926 for the NYSE, 1962 for AMEX and 1972 for NASDAQ. Monthly prices are available from 1926 for the NYSE, 1962 for AMEX and 1972 for NASDAQ. There is also data for mutual funds, REITs and U.S. Treasury issues.
WRDS is a web-based common interface to a collection of financial databases, including CRSP and COMPUSTAT.

Free Resources

This is a selected list of sites that offer free pricing data. Many of these have deep historical data but this can be inconsistent. In addition, most free sites discontinue coverage when a company's capital structure changes. For example, Yahoo! Finance has data for United Airlines, but only for the period after they emerged from bankruptcy in 2006

Yahoo! Finance
Daily, weekly and monthly open, high, low, close, volume, and close adjusted for splits and dividends. Search for a stock and then select "historical prices". Data are available back as far as 1962, depending on the stock (the earliest available date will be displayed automatically). Also covers mutual funds, indices and exchange traded funds.
Google Finance
Daily and weekly open, high, low, close and volume. Prices are adjusted for splits and dividends, but these actions are not indicated when the data are downloaded. Data are available as far back as forty years but there is no easy way to determine the earliest available date.

Print Resources

The Library has a few print sources with stock prices, but coverage can vary.

The Commercial and Financial Chronicle
Regenstein Library, f HG1 C7
Covers 1865 - 1972, data availability will vary.
National Stock Summary
Monthly updates, covers 1932 - 1965

The Harold Washington Library Center downtown has extensive runs of the Daily Stock Price Record. It is probably a better place to go for people who are looking up a few historical prices that are outside of our database coverage.