Library Guides: Palestine Studies: Resources in Special Collections @UChicago

Using Special Collections and Archives

For more information about finding rare books and archival materials and visiting the Special Collection Research Center, visit their website or contact Anne.

Digitized Collections at UChicago Library

19th-Century Maps of the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia
& more less...
his page provides access to scans of some of the 19th-century maps of the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia that are held at the University of Chicago Library's Map Collection.

Middle East Photo Archive of the University of Chicago Library This link opens in a new window
The Middle East Photograph Archive consists of about 400 photographs, most dating to the second half of the nineteenth century and produced by professional photographers. The images depict the monuments of the Middle East's medieval and ancient past as well as scenes of daily life in urban and rural locations.

Rare Books and Archives at UChicago Library

All the materials in Special Collections can be found in the Library's catalog. Use the Advanced Search to limit to Special Collections or use the facets in the right hand column to limit your keyword search.

Search the Finding Aids to locate archival material in Special Collections research Center

Here are some examples:

Guide to the Middle Eastern Posters Collection 1970s-1990s
& more less...
The Middle Eastern Posters collection comprises posters produced by government offices and private organizations, primarily in Iran and Afghanistan.
Ludwig Rosenberger Collection of Judaica
Includes primary source material related to Zionism and Arab and Palestinian resistance
"Palestine" in Special Collections
Search for "Palestine" in the Library catalog, limited to materials in Special Collections, excluding UChicago Press books.
The Popular Press: Holdings in the Middle East Department
& more less...
A listing of various publications in the collection (newspapers, journals, serials) from the 19th and 20th centuries, many of them uncataloged.
Stereograph Cards Collection 1873-1914
Includes images of Palestine taken in early 20th century

Ask a Librarian

Special Collections Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

https://uchicago.libapps.com/libapps/account/manage/profile_box?account_id=54858#